Jim Murray Memorial Foundation Recognizes Auto Writers

Legendary automotive journalist Chris Economaki. Photo: Courtesy of SEMA

Do you value good automotive journalism? Do you want to foster a love of the written word and a passion for writing about racing, wrenching, driving and auto enthusiasm? If so, the Jim Murray Memorial Foundation could use your help.

The foundation honors legendary sports writer Jim Murray by providing scholarships to up and coming sports journalists. Last year, the foundation developed a special scholarship for Auto Journalists funded by some of the giants of the sport: Mario Andretti, Dan & Evi Gurney, Parnelli Jones, Danny Sullivan, All American Racers, Inc., Steve Earwood, president of Rockingham Dragway, Dan Luginbuhl, retired Penske Corp VP of Communication, Greg Penske, and Gillian Zucker, president of Auto Club Speedway.


2014 JMMF/Auto-Racing Scholarship recipient Michael Shaw.

This year, the 2014 JMMF/Auto-Racing Scholarship goes to Michael Shaw from the University of Missouri. Michael will use the scholarship to take help pay for his housing as he further develops his beat reporting job, and hopes to someday do laps at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. You can read more about Michael at this interview by our sister site Hot Rod Hotline.

The foundation is raising money for more scholarships, and to support this year’s winner,  with a benefit event at the Santa Anita Racetrack in Acadia, CA called “A Day at the Races & Monte Carlo Night.” The event is on October 25th.  For more info, or to donate to the foundation on behalf of auto writers and auto racing, contact bmccoypr@me.com.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


I agree to receive emails from RacingJunk.com. I understand that I can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy