Fourth BC39 Race Less Than Two Weeks Away

Photo Courtesy USAC - Josh James Artwork
Photo Courtesy USAC – Josh James Artwork

There are still about two weeks before the fourth Driven2SaveLives BC39 presented by WeatherTech takes place on Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s quarter-mile dirt track inside the third turn of the 2.5-mile historic oval racetrack. The entry list for this annual celebration of Bryan Clauson, the former USAC national midget champion and two-time Indianapolis 500 starter, is climbing ferociously. Clauson, who died in a crash, was an organ donor; the race is held to keep his commitment to saving lives – after losing his own – growing.

Moving from 30 entries just a few days ago to more than 40 as the weekend begins, the BC39 events, scheduled for August 3-4 are attracting some of the finest open-wheel racers in the United States, all of whom are vying to bring home the Cold Hard Art trophy at the close of this race. In advance of the official action, NTT INDYCAR SERIES 2004 champion and 2013 Indianapolis 500 winner Tony Kanaan was the latest to try his hand at the track and in a midget, both new to the Brazilian ace. Kanaan and Indianapolis Motor Speedway president, J. Douglas Boles, were in action on the dirt track earlier in the week.

Initially held in 2018, the BC39 race wasn’t run in 2020 due to the pandemic. Winners of the first three races are Brady Bacon in 2018, Zeb Wise the following year and Kyle Larson during this 2021 NASCAR Cup Series championship season. At this point only Bacon is on the entry list but there’’s plenty of time for both Wise and Larson to punch their tickets.

Clauson Marshall Racing has three entries, for two-time USAC national champion Tyler Courtney of Indianapolis, USAC Silver Crown champ and Daytona 500 winner Ryan Newman (South Bend, Ind.), together with Emerson Axiom of Franklin, Ind., currently leading the USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car rookie of the year standings. Veteran 10-time World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink sprints car champ Donny Schatz is on the entry list, as he makes his national midget debut aboard Mark Cooper’s Spike chassis.

USAC is expecting added entries to pour in from all around the country. Activities at the track begin Tuesday, August 2nd with team parking starting at noon ET. There will be a heat race position draft during the afternoon, aa all cars entered for this race will be randomized into a draft order for the heat race draft. Teams will choose their heat race spot, either in person with a representative on-site or remotely through USAC officials. Any team without a rep at the track will be given the first available spot once positions have been allocated to those already at Indy.

On-track action starts on Wednesday, August 3rd. First a driver’s meeting takes place at 2PM ET, followed by the opening of public gates an hour later. Cars begin their on-track activities at 4PM, followed by opening ceremonies at 7PM. Heat races and the exciting Stoops Pursuit feature race conclude the first night’s action.

Thursday night’s action has public gates opening at 3PM and cars on-track for practice, starting an hour later. Qualifying races commence at 5PM, with opening ceremonies at 7:30PM and the main feature events, the semi-feature and the 39-lap main event to follow.

About Anne Proffit 1222 Articles
Anne Proffit traces her love of racing - in particular drag racing - to her childhood days in Philadelphia, where Atco Dragway, Englishtown and Maple Grove Raceway were destinations just made for her. As a diversion, she was the first editor of IMSA’s Arrow newsletter, and now writes about and photographs sports cars, Indy cars, Formula 1, MotoGP, NASCAR, Formula Drift, Red Bull Global Rallycross - in addition to her first love of NHRA drag racing. A specialty is a particular admiration for the people that build and tune drag racing engines.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


I agree to receive emails from I understand that I can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy