Rewiring race car

Old 05-18-2009, 04:54 PM
  #1  
Superpro399z
Member
JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Galveston,Indiana
Posts: 33
Default Rewiring race car

Looks like I am going to have to rewire my race car,what's your opinion Painless or K&R. Which one is easier since I am not that great with wiring!Any help would be appreciated. Thanks Mike :?:
Superpro399z is offline  
Old 05-18-2009, 05:39 PM
  #2  
shawnp
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 937
Default

We had used painless on the first 3 or 4 dragsters. The last one we decided to go K&R. After using the K&R set up, I will not go back to painless. The instructions are easy to follow, nice chart for those the like to see the layout versus having to read the instructions and great customer service if you need to call.
shawnp is offline  
Old 05-18-2009, 05:40 PM
  #3  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

them two names shouldnt be in the same sentence anymore lol

k&r is sweet !!
hammertime is offline  
Old 05-19-2009, 03:17 AM
  #4  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

K&R for sure!!
johnracer is offline  
Old 05-19-2009, 03:57 AM
  #5  
I972Nova
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Orient, OH
Posts: 384
Default

I have the Biondo Mega Dial Panel with the dial board all built in. It was real easy to install and has been flawless. I dont have any experience with the K&R but it looks very similar. Here is a link to both.

http://www.biondoracing.com/MegaPanel.shtml

http://www.krperformance.com/wiringkits.cfm
I972Nova is offline  
Old 05-19-2009, 04:42 AM
  #6  
TS1955
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lost Creek, WV
Posts: 533
Default

I have used a couple of Painless set ups. But from what I've seen of the K & R harnesses, I think I'm going with K & R next time.

TS1955
TS1955 is offline  
Old 05-19-2009, 04:05 PM
  #7  
Superpro399z
Member
JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Galveston,Indiana
Posts: 33
Default

Thanks for your opinions. I see a lot of dragsters using K&R, I run a door car is it the same set up? I looked on there site and there is a panel box for the roll bar also they say the kit comes with a new solenoid, why is that? Thanks again. Mike
Superpro399z is offline  
Old 05-19-2009, 05:53 PM
  #8  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Originally Posted by mican
Thanks for your opinions. I see a lot of dragsters using K&R, I run a door car is it the same set up? I looked on there site and there is a panel box for the roll bar also they say the kit comes with a new solenoid, why is that? Thanks again. Mike
comes with a ford solenoid so you only have to run the main wire to the starter.
hammertime is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service