new converter

Old 09-23-2010, 08:36 PM
  #1  
bigmack
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 78
Default new converter

hey guys i been runing a street/strip 3000-3500 ptc converter in my car and in the heat it would run 10.83 to 10.90 at 124 -125 mph. so i got a new 8" 5500 ptc converter and ran the car today made three passes 11.00 second pass 10.99 and 11.00 and my mph fell off 121 first and second pass and 123 on last pass. do it take time for the converter break in or do i need to call ptc. what to do.
bigmack is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 10:42 PM
  #2  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

Call Kenny Ford and tell him what the hey, it sounds like the converter is too loose. (no breakin time on a converter) He's easy to talk too and i'm sure he'll straighten it out. he may need more imfo on the engine,cam, and gearing, but almost everyone i know runs his converter, including my self for the last 10 yrs.

JMO

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  
Old 09-24-2010, 07:13 AM
  #3  
bigmack
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 78
Default

ok thanks zip, yeah i have only heard good things about ptc it was just disappointing to run slower with my new race converter i'll call kenny thanks.
bigmack is offline  
Old 09-24-2010, 07:36 AM
  #4  
mytmouz
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
mytmouz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pelahatchie, MS
Posts: 995
Default

x2 on calling Kenny. He will get ya done right...
mytmouz is offline  
Old 09-26-2010, 08:11 AM
  #5  
spib
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: EastWenatchee,WA
Posts: 887
Default

I have a ptc glide, good people, sounds to loose for your combo
spib is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service