Battery Disconnect

Old 09-01-2012, 04:31 AM
  #1  
jreiley
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Iowa - USA
Posts: 218
Default Battery Disconnect

Like all race cars, I have the battery wired through a external (on the fender) disconnect switch. I would like to be able to shut down the batteries from my seat as well. Lokar makes a disconnect that attaches to the shofter but it looks like it uses another big switch, I would like to run the hot side to a switch so that both switches have to be on. Anybody got any ideas?
jreiley is offline  
Old 09-01-2012, 07:48 AM
  #2  
482
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Default

If something happens, there needs to be one switch outside to turn everything off! You could run a rod to the existing switch that would turn the switch off and on from two places, inside and out.
482 is offline  
Old 09-02-2012, 07:36 PM
  #3  
TheYellaBrick
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheYellaBrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Emmett, Idaho
Posts: 7,334
Default

AGREED, or a push/pull cable( available online )

https://www.google.com/search?q=%22p...ient=firefox-a

---------------------------------
TheYellaBrick is offline  
Old 09-02-2012, 09:16 PM
  #4  
482
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Default

Affirmative, on the cable! :wink:
482 is offline  
Old 09-03-2012, 02:52 PM
  #5  
TheRabbit
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheRabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Augusta, Ga.
Posts: 2,295
Default

I have a Moroso master cut off switch on the back and I have one of these to turn on / off power inside.

http://www.grainger.com/Grainger/STI...120903225046:s
TheRabbit is offline  
Old 09-03-2012, 09:28 PM
  #6  
482
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Default

Yep, as long as outside turns off everything surely would work.
I was thinking about a dragster I had once, and it was setup to use the same switch with a rod running to it from outside behind the rear and another to the driver compartment. Don't have one in my present car, but may look into it with a switch like that! Thanks
482 is offline  
Old 09-04-2012, 05:49 AM
  #7  
jreiley
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Iowa - USA
Posts: 218
Default

Are you using this switch to disconnect power to the ignition, such as a Painless type switch, or the leads from the battery itself?
jreiley is offline  
Old 09-04-2012, 09:30 AM
  #8  
TheRabbit
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheRabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Augusta, Ga.
Posts: 2,295
Default

I dont use a manufactured switch panel. I made mine and use relays to power water pump, fan, fuel pump,etc. This switch kills all power at my terminal strip. It kills power to everything when i hit it. I also have a seperate ignition switch so i can turn the motor over then flip ignition on after motor is turning over. The kill switch is mounted just in front of my shifter.

You could use it in line to cut power off / on to a switch panel very easy. I dont like having to fumble around in an emergeny situation trying to find a small kill switch thats mounted in a switch panel.
TheRabbit is offline  
Old 09-05-2012, 05:52 AM
  #9  
jreiley
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Iowa - USA
Posts: 218
Default

I use a panel from Digital Delay. Very nice. Like the one you built, it has relays and is fused. I think I am going to go with your idea and mount the kill button as conspicuos as possible. Excuse the spelling.
jreiley is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service