Inside car idle control

Old 10-22-2013, 08:34 AM
  #1  
oldandtired
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
oldandtired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sugar Hill, GA
Posts: 1,370
Default Inside car idle control

I'm looking for a cable drive idle adjuster that would increase or decrease my idle speed by turning a knob clockwise or counter clockwise.
I'm sure there is an industrial use somewhere.
Thanks,
oldandtired is offline  
Old 10-22-2013, 04:03 PM
  #2  
oldandtired
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
oldandtired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sugar Hill, GA
Posts: 1,370
Default

Help still needed!
BBC, stack injected.
I need to adjust the throttle opening from inside the vehicle, so if/when I am by myself, I can warm up and then go to hot motor or cool down mode or idle.


I only need 1/16 inch (or so) movement, but would love to have a knob to turn back and forth to give me precise RPM control.
oldandtired is offline  
Old 10-23-2013, 07:03 AM
  #3  
RonOwensRacing
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: florence ky
Posts: 498
Default

I think this is what you are looking for.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/BUYERS-VCGTX...item27ce30d2c4
RonOwensRacing is offline  
Old 10-23-2013, 10:15 AM
  #4  
oldandtired
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
oldandtired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sugar Hill, GA
Posts: 1,370
Default

Originally Posted by RonOwensRacing
I think this is what you are looking for.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/BUYERS-VCGTX...item27ce30d2c4
Real close and thanks for the link. I am looking for a piece that by turning the knob, the cable extends or retracts.
Example - By testing, I would know that an indicator arrow at 9 o'clock would be 1,500 cold RPM. Once warm, dial back to 3 o'clock for 1,000 RPM. If the engine is running rough, go to perhaps 6 o'clock to get it to stabilize.

Make sense?

P.S. Dan, thanks for your lead. I'm checking into it and will probably make something from a push / pull cable as you indicated.
oldandtired is offline  
Old 10-24-2013, 04:46 AM
  #5  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

An aircraft throttle cable does that...like for a Cessna 172 or similar. It is a push-pull knob but can be fine tuned by turning it....not sure if having something like that is legal though....

Johnny
johnracer is offline  
Old 10-24-2013, 06:11 AM
  #6  
TheRabbit
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheRabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Augusta, Ga.
Posts: 2,295
Default

What you are looking for is used on several big concrete cutting saws. Been a long time since I've messed with them but target was one of the brands.

Stop the video at 35 seconds. You can see the RED knob pulled out. That's actually the adjustable throttle cable. You simply push the red button in and unlocks it. That's an old Target saw. If you go by a Hertz Equipment Rental or a United Rentals they can get you that part.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1L8cebANF28
TheRabbit is offline  
Old 11-06-2013, 06:08 AM
  #7  
oldandtired
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
oldandtired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sugar Hill, GA
Posts: 1,370
Default

Thanks to all. My initial fix is a PTO cable. I drilled and tapped a hole in the metal sleeve portion and put in a thumb screw to put friction on the cable.
I'll check out these other sources.
oldandtired is offline  
Old 11-08-2013, 08:06 AM
  #8  
TheRabbit
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheRabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Augusta, Ga.
Posts: 2,295
Default

I was at a local industrial supply house yesterday and saw one of the cables I was taking about. They can make any length you want.
The one I'm talking about has the locking button in the center.
I'm sure you can find one locally.


TheRabbit is offline  
Old 11-08-2013, 12:31 PM
  #9  
curtisreed
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
curtisreed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: KIEFER, OK.
Posts: 1,311
Default

Just make something like this. Use a push pull style cable and screw it into the end of the threaded section like I show here. The threaded section goes through a bracket, the cable sheath is held with a clamp. The other end the sheath is in a clamp and the end of the cable will push on the throttle linkage.



Curtis
curtisreed is offline  
Old 11-08-2013, 01:19 PM
  #10  
oldandtired
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
oldandtired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sugar Hill, GA
Posts: 1,370
Default

Thanks Curtis.
That's what I'm looking for. By the way, the PTO cable I'm using now does not want to rotate. After uncoiling it out of the package, I tried to straighten it as best as I could but it still wants to "return" to one position when it's rotated.
No worries - I'll get it done over the winter.
oldandtired is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service