BBC spark plug gap help

Old 08-11-2013, 08:23 AM
  #1  
duby05
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 19
Default BBC spark plug gap help

I am currently running .044 on NGK R44 or R45 have pro comp aluminum heads 10.5:1 comp. Accel high performance HEI distributor with accel 8.5mm plug wires. I was gapped at .050 and ran .6 slower than with current gap. Question is will I see better et with a smaller gap? Also looking to get a larger carb. Any opinions?
duby05 is offline  
Old 08-11-2013, 08:55 AM
  #2  
Swiley383
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Swiley383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: White Bluff TN
Posts: 622
Default

I ran my big block at0.35 it was 9.5 to1 with iron heads and a 850 carb
Swiley383 is offline  
Old 08-11-2013, 11:16 AM
  #3  
roadkill2
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 628
Default

I'd say .040 but it has a lot to do with Compression ratios, Combustion Chamber configuration, and timing, as well as what fuel you're using . .

Just another one of those things that make each of our engines "a little different" . .
roadkill2 is offline  
Old 08-11-2013, 11:54 AM
  #4  
duby05
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 19
Default

I'll gap my spare plugs at .040 and swap them out at the track to see what happens. I'm running 110 fuel only.
duby05 is offline  
Old 08-12-2013, 06:33 PM
  #5  
bjuice
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE
 
bjuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville s.c.
Posts: 3,239
Default Re: BBC spark plug gap help

Originally Posted by duby05
I am currently running .044 on NGK R44 or R45 have pro comp aluminum heads 10.5:1 comp. Accel high performance HEI distributor with accel 8.5mm plug wires. I was gapped at .050 and ran .6 slower than with current gap. Question is will I see better et with a smaller gap? Also looking to get a larger carb. Any opinions?
Whaaat ? you have.6 slower...thats 6/10ths.. Ain't No way !!! .daym mine didn't slow down that much after breaking push rod wiping out cam lobe dropping a cylinder.....do you mean .006 ????? :shock:
__________________
Bjuice..

"I'M YOUR HUCKLEBERRY ! "
bjuice is offline  
Old 08-12-2013, 08:04 PM
  #6  
duby05
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 19
Default

Nope I meant .6...first pass ran a xx.61 something didn't feel right and only thing that had been changed was plug gap, pulled plugs re gapped and ran xx.01
duby05 is offline  
Old 08-13-2013, 11:20 AM
  #7  
Swiley383
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Swiley383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: White Bluff TN
Posts: 622
Default

I think you may have had a diffrent problem that was fix when you pulled the plugs like a bad connection/ connections on your plug wires. how much did your MPH drop off?
Swiley383 is offline  
Old 08-13-2013, 07:23 PM
  #8  
duby05
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 19
Default

Only a few mph
duby05 is offline  
Old 08-14-2013, 07:06 AM
  #9  
bjuice
Administrator
RACING JUNKIE
 
bjuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville s.c.
Posts: 3,239
Default

Originally Posted by duby05
Only a few mph
a few MPH is a lot of ET....1/2 second or 2 mph in my Outlaw car is 3 car links easy... thats a Big Loss !
__________________
Bjuice..

"I'M YOUR HUCKLEBERRY ! "
bjuice is offline  
Old 08-14-2013, 11:43 AM
  #10  
duby05
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 19
Default

All is well right now. Going to see what a .040 gap does for me
duby05 is offline  
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service