Vega Build, Engine Setback?

Old 05-20-2013, 08:15 PM
  #1  
kend
Junior Member
JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 28
Default Vega Build, Engine Setback?

It's a drag car that'll have a 383 and Glide so before I nail it down should I set it back? If so, how far? I just bought the car and never driven it but I'm concerned about handling issues, it would be a lot easier to leave the engine where it is. Maybe I'm worrying about nothing but I would like some input. Thanks
kend is offline  
Old 05-20-2013, 09:58 PM
  #2  
TheYellaBrick
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheYellaBrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Emmett, Idaho
Posts: 7,334
Default

Moving your engine 'back' is going to require firewall modification and possibly additional sub frame fabrication. Lots of Vega's with V8's out there with no setback and no handling issues.
We've a couple of Vega racers here so they will have much more detailed info for ya. Welcome to the forum !
TheYellaBrick is offline  
Old 05-21-2013, 02:09 PM
  #3  
fla1976
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
fla1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,534
Default

I don't have my Vega anymore, but I set the engine back so it sat about the same position as the engine in a 67 Camaro I had. There was no firewall when I got it so it was no big problem. It had a V8 kit that came with the body, but It looked too nose heavy to me. I'll try to find some pics.
fla1976 is offline  
Old 05-24-2013, 07:30 AM
  #4  
roadkill2
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 628
Default

Depends on what you're going to do with it . . . Although I haven't built a gasser or other door car for over 40 years, NHRA still has some rules pertaining to engine setback for certain classes.

You'd probably be better off reading the rule book pertaining to the class(es) you want to run. As an example, I think (Don't hold me to it) S/G has a 10% (of the wheelbase) setback using the centerline of the spindle and the #1 spark plug as the data points.

Certain classes have certain dimensions and it shouldn't really be an arbitrary decision . .
roadkill2 is offline  
Old 05-24-2013, 06:38 PM
  #5  
TheYellaBrick
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheYellaBrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Emmett, Idaho
Posts: 7,334
Default

..on the other hand, if you're just running brackets, then there are NO rules except safety equipment....I think.... :shock: ops: ops: ops: ops:
TheYellaBrick is offline  
Old 05-27-2013, 05:57 AM
  #6  
fast75vega
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Niagara Falls, NY
Posts: 965
Default

6 to 8 inches seems to be the norm for motor set backs on the vega... alot keep it in the stock pos. too
fast75vega is offline  
Old 05-27-2013, 08:00 PM
  #7  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

Set the number 1 spark plug on center with the front spindles and the car will be happy you did, and so will you. I've only built/had 2 vega's but that where they were set.

JMO


Zip
zipper06 is offline  
Old 06-03-2013, 07:25 PM
  #8  
chevyart
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 173
Default vegas

join our site. h-body.org(go to forums). no charge to join and the most vega info on the planet chevy aret
chevyart is offline  
Old 08-22-2013, 05:01 PM
  #9  
ballsout1
Junior Member
JOURNEYMAN
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 28
Default

fwiw... if the firewall is modified a cage as opposed to a bar is reqiured. this may or may not be a concern to ya. if your going cage than i believe the spark plug and spindle advise you got is probably about right.
ballsout1 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service