dragster headlights

Old 02-14-2013, 11:22 AM
  #1  
tazracing
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 107
Default dragster headlights

i just bought little fog lights from advane with mounting bracket. but i was told i shouldnt drill holes in arm for them . had anyone mounted lights like this and what kind if clamp did you use ?
tazracing is offline  
Old 02-14-2013, 12:56 PM
  #2  
curtisreed
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
curtisreed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: KIEFER, OK.
Posts: 1,311
Default

I made these to replace the cap on the king pin boss. This is a picture of the parts on my CAM program. I don't have a pic of them on the car, we sold it.



Curtis
curtisreed is offline  
Old 02-14-2013, 02:59 PM
  #3  
THERATTLER
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
THERATTLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: LICKSKILLET , MISSISSIPPI
Posts: 1,474
Default

https://www.google.com/search?hl=en&...%3B1800%3B1200
THERATTLER is offline  
Old 02-15-2013, 03:43 AM
  #4  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

I made tabs simlar to Curtis's except they don't replace the cap, just use the same bolts.......do your lights mount with a stud or a bracket?

Johnny
johnracer is offline  
Old 02-15-2013, 02:09 PM
  #5  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Putting them or replacing the king pin caps, they tend to loosen up over time. Your better off bolting them to the side of the body after the fact sometimes, it works well and makes the wiring clean.
hammertime is offline  
Old 02-16-2013, 04:41 AM
  #6  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

Dave, I thought about just attaching mine to the sides of the nose but was afraid the nose would block too much of the light. I have some small led's similar to yours. I do think they would look better on the nose....Your thoughts?

Johnny
johnracer is offline  
Old 02-18-2013, 06:37 AM
  #7  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

typically when adding them later on you would mount to the body or nose.

Kinda like in the picture
hammertime is offline  
Old 02-18-2013, 06:45 AM
  #8  
tazracing
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 107
Default

i put them on the body . thanks hammertime
tazracing is offline  
Old 02-18-2013, 01:29 PM
  #9  
curtisreed
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
curtisreed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: KIEFER, OK.
Posts: 1,311
Default

Glad you got it done and you're happy with them.

David, we never had a problem with ours coming loose. That's why they invented locktite. Also we liked having them turn with the wheels.
curtisreed is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service