Fresh Turbo 400 issues

Old 12-08-2012, 01:20 PM
  #1  
Harbone
Moderator
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Harbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4,039
Default Fresh Turbo 400 issues

Freshly rebuilt Turbo 400, has reverse and 1st gear only. Those gears are tight and not slipping. Will not go into 2nd gear, at about 4K rpm I let off the throttle, feels like it slides into 2nd but then it just freewheels. If I manually shift back into 1st it bites and works fine. Vacuum modulator has vacuum and no fluid in the hose. My trans guy thinks (hopes) its the valve body and is sending me a new one.
Anybody have any other ideas or do you think my trans guy is right about the valve body?
__________________
Chris

As close to "Normal" as I can get...
Harbone is offline  
Old 12-08-2012, 03:15 PM
  #2  
wmeabates
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 134
Default

If you are still using the electric kick down it could be in that circuit.Bill.
wmeabates is offline  
Old 12-08-2012, 03:20 PM
  #3  
Harbone
Moderator
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Harbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4,039
Default

The electric kickdown has never been hooked up
__________________
Chris

As close to "Normal" as I can get...
Harbone is offline  
Old 12-08-2012, 03:30 PM
  #4  
fast75vega
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Niagara Falls, NY
Posts: 965
Default

is it the same vacuum mod from your old trans or is it a new one? you might have to stick a small screw driver in it and adjust the shift point
fast75vega is offline  
Old 12-08-2012, 03:39 PM
  #5  
Harbone
Moderator
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Harbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4,039
Default

Originally Posted by fast75vega
is it the same vacuum mod from your old trans or is it a new one? you might have to stick a small screw driver in it and adjust the shift point
Its a new one, I will ask my trans guy if he installed an adjustable one.
__________________
Chris

As close to "Normal" as I can get...
Harbone is offline  
Old 12-08-2012, 03:47 PM
  #6  
fast75vega
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Niagara Falls, NY
Posts: 965
Default

Originally Posted by Harbone
Originally Posted by fast75vega
is it the same vacuum mod from your old trans or is it a new one? you might have to stick a small screw driver in it and adjust the shift point
Its a new one, I will ask my trans guy if he installed an adjustable one.
for a HP street/strip car... i cant see him not using one?
fast75vega is offline  
Old 12-09-2012, 07:07 AM
  #7  
Harbone
Moderator
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Harbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4,039
Default

its adjustable but still no change. the valve body is a manual/automatic unit so even if the modulator was not working I should beable to manually go through the gears. kinda sucks, he is sending me a new valve body. if that does not fix the problem then I have to pull the trans back out :evil:
__________________
Chris

As close to "Normal" as I can get...
Harbone is offline  
Old 12-09-2012, 08:48 AM
  #8  
fast75vega
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Niagara Falls, NY
Posts: 965
Default

sorry... i thought you said you could shift it manually and it worked ops:

did you check to see if the trans filter is locked all the way in cause if it will cause that very same problem cause its sucking air!
fast75vega is offline  
Old 12-09-2012, 10:22 AM
  #9  
Harbone
Moderator
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Harbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4,039
Default

Originally Posted by fast75vega
sorry... i thought you said you could shift it manually and it worked ops:

did you check to see if the trans filter is locked all the way in cause if it will cause that very same problem cause its sucking air!
It was firmly in place when I dropped the pan. I hate working on auto trannies on jackstands, damn fluid gets everywhere.

The valve body is out, now just wait for the new one to arrive and pray it works.
__________________
Chris

As close to "Normal" as I can get...
Harbone is offline  
Old 12-09-2012, 11:24 AM
  #10  
TheYellaBrick
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheYellaBrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Emmett, Idaho
Posts: 7,334
Default

This deserves a double AAAARRRRGGgggggg / AAARRRrrrrrGGGggggg......accompanied by serious knashing of teeth..
TheYellaBrick is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -