3rd Gen Camaro Frames

Old 08-30-2012, 06:05 AM
  #1  
jreiley
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Iowa - USA
Posts: 218
Default 3rd Gen Camaro Frames

My 85 has frame connectors. What is the difference between a frame connector and frame braces? Which should be used for 600hp? or does it make any difference?
jreiley is offline  
Old 08-30-2012, 11:56 AM
  #2  
itsabird
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ohio
Posts: 812
Default

I don't know about frame braces, but with 600 ponies, frame connectors would be a good idea.
itsabird is offline  
Old 08-30-2012, 02:06 PM
  #3  
dragonmaster093
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: kingsport tn
Posts: 1,735
Default

i would say weld in conectors and maybe even a cage
dragonmaster093 is offline  
Old 08-30-2012, 04:58 PM
  #4  
TheYellaBrick
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheYellaBrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Emmett, Idaho
Posts: 7,334
Default

Ditto on welding the connecters and installing a minimum 6 point cage with door bars. You would be ASTOUNDED at how much more consistent your setup will be on a stiff base.
TheYellaBrick is offline  
Old 08-30-2012, 05:29 PM
  #5  
jreiley
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Iowa - USA
Posts: 218
Default

This car is a 1/8 drag car only. I have the frame connectors welded. I saw an ad for frame braces that's why I wondered about them compared to connectors.
jreiley is offline  
Old 08-31-2012, 09:16 AM
  #6  
itsabird
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ohio
Posts: 812
Default

x2. on at least a 6 point cage.
itsabird is offline  
Old 08-31-2012, 04:14 PM
  #7  
fast75vega
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Niagara Falls, NY
Posts: 965
Default

Originally Posted by itsabird
x2. on at least a 6 point cage.
yep... had a car crash today here at NY....the wind gust pretty much pushed him into the guardrail today .... i think he was glad he had a cage
fast75vega is offline  
Old 09-01-2012, 06:57 AM
  #8  
oldandtired
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
oldandtired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sugar Hill, GA
Posts: 1,370
Default

600 HP and no cage??
I hope you own a glass shop to replace all the windshields you will replace. :lol:
Dave
oldandtired is offline  
Old 09-02-2012, 11:06 AM
  #9  
jreiley
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Iowa - USA
Posts: 218
Default

Who said I didn't have a roll cage? The cage is a 12 point cage, cerfified by NHRA tech.
jreiley is offline  
Old 09-02-2012, 11:24 AM
  #10  
fast75vega
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Niagara Falls, NY
Posts: 965
Default

Originally Posted by jreiley
Who said I didn't have a roll cage? The cage is a 12 point cage, cerfified by NHRA tech.
if ya got no frame ties or braces in the car .... what is your "cert" cage welded too? just curious :?
fast75vega is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service