487 sbc heads

Old 08-01-2012, 08:42 AM
  #1  
hotrod1994
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: nekoosa wisconsin
Posts: 308
Default 487 sbc heads

are the 487 sbc heads any good looking for a good flowing head on the street there the 487 not the 487x
thanks-logan
hotrod1994 is offline  
Old 08-06-2012, 05:51 AM
  #2  
cncmotorsports
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Brookings South Dakota
Posts: 244
Default

The 487 and 487X were good for there time. Still nothing close to a Vortec head, or anything aftermarket.
cncmotorsports is offline  
Old 08-06-2012, 11:59 AM
  #3  
hotrod1994
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: nekoosa wisconsin
Posts: 308
Default

ok what has to be done to a vortec head to be able to take 550 lift spring ? without running the expensive comp beehives
hotrod1994 is offline  
Old 08-06-2012, 03:48 PM
  #4  
fast75vega
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Niagara Falls, NY
Posts: 965
Default

Originally Posted by mrbigtrucks
ok what has to be done to a vortec head to be able to take 550 lift spring ? without running the expensive comp beehives
just need to have them machined. i believe they can only take up too a .460 lift stock. comp cams sells a tool you can chuck up in an electric drill and do it yourself if you feel the urge :wink:
fast75vega is offline  
Old 08-06-2012, 04:58 PM
  #5  
hotrod1994
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: nekoosa wisconsin
Posts: 308
Default

ok thanks
hotrod1994 is offline  
Old 08-07-2012, 05:30 AM
  #6  
cncmotorsports
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Brookings South Dakota
Posts: 244
Default

Originally Posted by mrbigtrucks
ok what has to be done to a vortec head to be able to take 550 lift spring ? without running the expensive comp beehives
We completely re-machine the head to accept whatever cam lift we are using, guide and spring pocket.
cncmotorsports is offline  
Old 08-07-2012, 07:31 AM
  #7  
bluedawg357
Member
CRAFTSMAN
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: anchorage alaska
Posts: 56
Default

Is it worth machining vortec heads to accomodate lift above .500'' ? I've read that they don't flow any better past .500'' lift, is that true?
bluedawg357 is offline  
Old 08-07-2012, 02:34 PM
  #8  
cncmotorsports
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Brookings South Dakota
Posts: 244
Default

Originally Posted by bluedawg357
Is it worth machining vortec heads to accomodate lift above .500'' ? I've read that they don't flow any better past .500'' lift, is that true?
Yes it is worth it if this is what you have to use, or your class rules mandate it. Other wise aftermarket heads are a much better solution.
cncmotorsports is offline  
Old 08-23-2012, 04:15 PM
  #9  
RM1
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 14
Default 487 heads

for time and the money u spend on all add ons for the vortec ( valves springs covers intake oh yea they crack easy take your cash and buy a set of GM 292 turbo heads there the same as a dart 2 right out the box
RM1 is offline  
Old 08-23-2012, 04:15 PM
  #10  
RM1
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 14
Default 487 heads

for time and the money u spend on all add ons for the vortec ( valves springs covers intake oh yea they crack easy take your cash and buy a set of GM 292 turbo heads there the same as a dart 2 right out the box
RM1 is offline  
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service