Timing question

Old 04-22-2012, 10:51 PM
  #1  
jamez74
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 10
Default Timing question

How much in reality 5 degrees advanced timing will affect?
cam card says that it must be 112 centerline but i only managed to time it 117
centerline without buying any new parts. if i will buy new geardrive it will be 0nly 1 degree off. is there any real difference? engine is 540 bbc with 300 hp on nitrous. ( total 1100 hp)
jamez74 is offline  
Old 04-23-2012, 10:03 AM
  #2  
TS1955
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lost Creek, WV
Posts: 533
Default

This is just my opinion. I can't imagine a set up being 5 degrees off and not being able to correct it unless it was assemble wrong by mistake. And BTW if you are at 117 and it's supposed to be 112, then it's retarded 5 degrees. I'd take it apart and realign everything and try it again.

TS1955
TS1955 is offline  
Old 04-23-2012, 10:48 AM
  #3  
roadkill2
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 628
Default

X 2 . . . . . . . . . Read the instructions . . again . . something ain't right . .
roadkill2 is offline  
Old 04-23-2012, 12:02 PM
  #4  
coolracing
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Yooper
Posts: 168
Default

X3
coolracing is offline  
Old 04-23-2012, 02:37 PM
  #5  
jaxsmith
Member
MASTER JOURNEYMAN
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brandon MS
Posts: 47
Default

it will run like a turd at 117.... Fix it now and thank us later
jaxsmith is offline  
Old 04-23-2012, 02:52 PM
  #6  
markdunlap
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: central Illinois
Posts: 459
Default timing

If it is off 5 degrees retarded I would think you would not have enough exhaust valve to piston clearance and chance severe damage to your engine.

Most good gear drives, belt drives and quality timing chain sets have adjustment of at least plus or minus 8 cam degrees.

I suggest you consult with a local high performance engine builder to solve your problem before spending any additional money on parts.

It is possible the cam is ground incorretly too.

You need to be within 2 degrees of your spec on intake centerline to get your combination to run to its potential.
markdunlap is offline  
Old 04-23-2012, 05:10 PM
  #7  
SPEEDNEEDS1
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pikeville KY
Posts: 109
Default

My new comp. cam was the same way. It was supposed to be installed at 112 and when I put it in straight up it was at 118. Had to move the crank gear and put a button in cam gear to get it right. Comp say's it must have been a grind issue, however refused to send me another camshaft. This makes two different comp. cams that we have had this issue with. I think that erson will be my next cam choice.....
SPEEDNEEDS1 is offline  
Old 04-23-2012, 05:21 PM
  #8  
TheYellaBrick
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheYellaBrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Emmett, Idaho
Posts: 7,334
Default

I'm thinking Comp Cams is forgetting that all important 'customer service' aspect. Must've gotten so big that a few dissatisfied customers can be swallowed no prob........
TheYellaBrick is offline  
Old 04-23-2012, 10:10 PM
  #9  
jamez74
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 10
Default

ok. thanks guys. seems to be comp cams bad then. will buy this offset cam gear set then.
jamez74 is offline  
Old 05-04-2012, 01:06 PM
  #10  
bigray
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chelsea Oklahoma
Posts: 558
Default

we only use lunati cams.. only
bigray is offline  
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service