To much carb?

Old 01-09-2012, 12:05 PM
  #1  
Harbone
Moderator
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Harbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,998
Default To much carb?

The car I just bought has a Quick Fuel Technologies 950cfm carb on it. The part# is a Q950 and according to the website this is a drag race carb. I havent ran the car much since bringing it home, since it was cold and I tore the interior out to restore as soon as it was in the garage. The car starts right up but I noticed yesterday as I let it sit outside and warm up to burn the moisture out of the exhaust that it smells REALLY rich at idle! The car isnt missing or fouling plugs, its a 454 bored over .30 with 9.5:1 compression pistons, 781 heads with 2.19 and 1.88 valves, manley valve springs and some mild port work. 565 lift cam. The intake I do believe is a Torker. The car seems like it runs well but the fuel smell is almost unbearable! Can I "detune" this carbs idle setup enough or am I better off pulling it off the motor and finding a more "streetable" carb?
__________________
Chris

As close to "Normal" as I can get...
Harbone is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 03:59 PM
  #2  
TheYellaBrick
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheYellaBrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Emmett, Idaho
Posts: 7,334
Default

What is the elevation above sea level was this car tuned for, and what is YOUR elevation ?
TheYellaBrick is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 05:36 PM
  #3  
Harbone
Moderator
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Harbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,998
Default

It was tuned to run at the track at Indy, its way to rich for a street car with my setup according to all the carb calculators I have tried.
__________________
Chris

As close to "Normal" as I can get...
Harbone is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 08:58 PM
  #4  
bixblk
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
bixblk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicagoland area
Posts: 472
Default carbs are tricky

Bone
Tricky question
I think that carb will work QF's are pretty flexible for tuning.
I have had about a dozen BBC street strip motors, from 396 to 540's I have ran 750 vac carbs, 750 DP's, 850 DP's 1050's 2 and 3 ckt etc.
Many folks on here have more experience than me,but I think you can "detune" or set that one up.
As far as the carb calculators I have no faith in the ones I have used, they always came in at way under the CFM I thought I would need.
your motor seems to be lower compression but still may move alot of air. based on the previous owner reputation.
I would "play" with the carb you have.
Again just my opinion, but as you know we have some slick guys on here they may know better than me.
Good Luck
Jeff M.
PS I have asked about carbs issues on this forum and got great advise
bixblk is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 10:16 PM
  #5  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

Hey Bone's, you didn't say if it was 4150 base or a 4500 base carb? If you have a 4500 base i don't know if you have room for an adaptor plate to a 4150 base carb/hood clearance.The cam you have is actually smaller than a LS7 stock cam. I would think for the street a 750 carb would be perfect, but the choice between a vacuum secondary would be how much vacuum you can pull, so i would suggest a 750 double pumper with progressive linkage, play around with the cams and i'm sure you'll be happy. if you decide to go vacuum secondary then use a 4.0 power valve.

JMO

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 05:58 AM
  #6  
fast75vega
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Niagara Falls, NY
Posts: 965
Default

i think 950 is alot for that setup..... :? i would say the same as zipper 750-800 dp would be perfect :wink:
fast75vega is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 06:45 AM
  #7  
Harbone
Moderator
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Harbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,998
Default

Zip I am pretty sure its a 4150 base. Its a shame cause its a really nice carb and if I was going to the track all the time I could probably make it work but this is going to be a street car 99% of the time so I need something more compatible.

Thanks guys!
__________________
Chris

As close to "Normal" as I can get...
Harbone is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service