starting problem with crank trigger

Old 12-31-2011, 04:11 PM
  #1  
348409
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 20
Default starting problem with crank trigger

Been running MSD crank trigger system with a 7AL-2 box for several years. Was using a 8984 msd starter saver to retard the timing at start up. Car always started fine. Car quit one night at a big money race and would not start. Took it home and traced it down to the starter saver. Went to a fancy digital start/high speed retard system from msd. Looked good on the dash but engine always kicked back when starting. Tried different retard settings but nothing worked. Sent it back and got a 8982 start/retard box and the same problem. 0,15.or 25 retard doesn't change anything. Problem with the BOX??? Any suggestions??
348409 is offline  
Old 01-01-2012, 04:47 AM
  #2  
wmeabates
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 134
Default

Check the rotor phasing,if it's off the added retard might be causing it to fire the next cyl in the firing order. Because of less cly pressure it's easer for the spark to go there.Bill.
wmeabates is offline  
Old 01-01-2012, 07:42 AM
  #3  
markdunlap
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: central Illinois
Posts: 459
Default Starting problem

When using the Starter Saver, there is 2 choices of retard, 10 or 20 degrees. If you were using 10 degrees on it and you have not tried 10 degrees on the new boxes, maybe over 10 degrees retard is too much?

On a 12.5 compression 496 BBC, 10 degrees works most of the time. 20 degrees can cause kick back when hot.
markdunlap is offline  
Old 01-01-2012, 02:17 PM
  #4  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Both post above touch on what I'd want to know also

have you phased the rotor and how much timing are you trying to pull out at start up ?
hammertime is offline  
Old 01-01-2012, 08:31 PM
  #5  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

Please keep this thread going, i don't run a crank trigger or a starter retard, but we do run a crank trigger on the 66 Biscyne pump gas motor. I just get the engine spinning after the fuel is up then flip the ignation on while running alcohol. I'm learning something here and i'm old but never too old to learn.

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  
Old 01-02-2012, 07:59 PM
  #6  
348409
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 20
Default

Coming from an era when a dual point and a 50,000 volt coil was the cats meow I too am getting older. Sometimes I think all this new fangled stuff is a waste of time. Use a drilled cap to set the rotor phasing. Was down playing with it today and looking at the directions for the retard and realized it stayed in the retard mode until 1300 rpm. The starter saver I was using didn't do that. Was adjusting the rotor at idle. Figured it was worth a shot so I moved the dist a few degrees and it started fine. Not 100% sure it will fix the problem but it seems to have at this point. Will be doing some rotor phase testing before the season starts.
348409 is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 05:41 AM
  #7  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

What size engine is this and how much compression ?
hammertime is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 10:28 AM
  #8  
shawnp
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 937
Default

Never had any luck with MSD and any product that was to retard the timing for starting. Take it out and don't let it cost you money in a final round.
shawnp is offline  
Old 01-06-2012, 03:38 PM
  #9  
348409
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 20
Default

Engine is a 557 bbc with about 11=1 compression running pump gas. Did have one starter saver go bad and cost me a race. Wiring is set up so I can bypass it if it does it again. Am thinking about trashing the crank trigger and going to a regular dist.
348409 is offline  
Old 01-06-2012, 03:56 PM
  #10  
markdunlap
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: central Illinois
Posts: 459
Default starting

If you are going back to a distributor to get back to some timing advance curve and have less timing at idle, keep this in mind. If you have a Dominator carb, it may need all the advace to run well at idle. Not much booster signal there and a big plenum intake typically.
markdunlap is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service