Maximum bore BBchevy

Old 12-10-2011, 08:12 AM
  #1  
jamzilla
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Default Maximum bore BBchevy

I would like to know the max. bore for a tall truck block.And if anyone knows a machine shop near Baltimore. I want to go 4.530.Thanks in advance JIM :?:
jamzilla is offline  
Old 12-10-2011, 08:30 AM
  #2  
markdunlap
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: central Illinois
Posts: 459
Default Maximum bore

427 truck block is good to 4.350" to 4.375" maybe. I would fill it to water pump holes for that big. But you can use a 4.375" stroke or possibly 4.500" stroke on tall deck to get maximum cubes, depending on rod length. This would take cubes from 505 to 540 range.

It has to be a siamesed bore block to go above this size which is a Bowtie GM block or Dart, etc.

Remember, a tall deck block and aftermarket heads create issues with headers fitting in any stock frame car.

That being said, a tall deck or short deck 496 is just a small bore 540 and will do a very good imitation of one if the combo is correct.
markdunlap is offline  
Old 12-10-2011, 10:36 AM
  #3  
RonOwensRacing
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: florence ky
Posts: 498
Default

I tried that a few years ago on two blocks and there was not enough metal it bores through and we had to sleeve the block and go smaller stock blocks from what i have seen want go 4.500
RonOwensRacing is offline  
Old 12-11-2011, 08:49 AM
  #4  
TS1955
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lost Creek, WV
Posts: 533
Default Re: Maximum bore BBchevy

Originally Posted by jamzilla
I would like to know the max. bore for a tall truck block.And if anyone knows a machine shop near Baltimore. I want to go 4.530.Thanks in advance JIM :?:
The largest bore I've seen in a stock block is 4.390 (.140 over). A friend of mine has it and it also has been hard blocked too.

TS1955
TS1955 is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 10:48 PM
  #5  
ewing
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Many production blocks have thin cylinder walls, even at standard bore.

I would go easy on the intended power level, (and in doing so... the cylinder pressure), If I was forced to overbore a stock block drastically.
ewing is offline  
Old 01-03-2012, 10:52 PM
  #6  
ewing
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Default

For a 4.500" bore, it's time for a Dart or World block.
ewing is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 10:27 AM
  #7  
TS1955
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lost Creek, WV
Posts: 533
Default

Originally Posted by ewing
For a 4.500" bore, it's time for a Dart or World block.
You are correct.

TS1955
TS1955 is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 11:02 AM
  #8  
hink
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NORTHEAST
Posts: 290
Default

Originally Posted by ewing
For a 4.500" bore, it's time for a Dart or World block.

Dart only !!!!
hink is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 02:44 PM
  #9  
coloradoracerguy
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Morrison, Colorado
Posts: 120
Default

I wouldn't try the 4.5 stroke either, as you'll likely hit the oil gallery in the oil pan rail while trying to clearance it............Not sure if they made the truck blocks in the priority main style oiling system though......that would allow it to be opened up a bit..........
coloradoracerguy is offline  
Old 01-04-2012, 03:38 PM
  #10  
BEAST477
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
BEAST477's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,908
Default

Originally Posted by hink
Originally Posted by ewing
For a 4.500" bore, it's time for a Dart or World block.

Dart only !!!!
X2 on the Dart block :!:
BEAST477 is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service