iron headed 632

Old 09-13-2011, 06:44 PM
  #1  
wibberg350
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: lathrop mo
Posts: 18
Default iron headed 632

i need to pick a head for a 632 i picked this motor up hurt it had lost 2 rods but the guy was thinking when he built it he bought 10 pistions it was 14 to 1 with bb2s and had a custom cam in it the cam is junk now so i will need to pick a cam as well by the way it made 1160hp at 7900 its going in a 4200 pound mud drag truck . thank you guys
wibberg350 is offline  
Old 09-13-2011, 07:36 PM
  #2  
TheRabbit
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheRabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Augusta, Ga.
Posts: 2,295
Default

I really don't think it made 1160 with bb2's and it sure didn't at 7900 rpm's
And to boot I don't think you can get close to what the bb2's made with iron heads. I'm not sure, but some of the other guys can help with the iron heads question.
If it did make it at 7,900 why so high? If it's in a 4,200lb mud truck your probably running low side and shifting so you need to peak lower than 7,900 so it will turn back up after you shift.
TheRabbit is offline  
Old 09-14-2011, 06:35 AM
  #3  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Originally Posted by TheRabbit
I really don't think it made 1160 with bb2's and it sure didn't at 7900 rpm's
And to boot I don't think you can get close to what the bb2's made with iron heads. I'm not sure, but some of the other guys can help with the iron heads question.
If it did make it at 7,900 why so high? If it's in a 4,200lb mud truck your probably running low side and shifting so you need to peak lower than 7,900 so it will turn back up after you shift.
I couldnt agree more with the above, someone had a happy dyno or is blowing smoke about the 1160hp. I assume you are required to run a Iron head ? If not there is several heads that will make more power without effort.
hammertime is offline  
Old 09-14-2011, 07:54 AM
  #4  
bbchevy
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fountain,MICHIGAN
Posts: 856
Default ?

Had a 632 w a set of VERY NICELY Ported,MERLIN 345 Iron Heads.
I MEAN MAX Ported,it made either 985 or 995,@ 6700-6800.
1160 w/a IRON Head @ 8000,must have been When it EXPLODED and was FLYING Apart!!!???
Later
G :?
bbchevy is offline  
Old 09-20-2011, 12:25 PM
  #5  
wibberg350
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: lathrop mo
Posts: 18
Default

That's what I was told it made I got it hurt the class I'm in has to be iron headed I know I'm going to be leaving a ton of power on the table but what I'm asking is what heads and cam would you guys use I also under stand I would be better off with a smaller ci but I got a hell of a deal on the short block thanks for your guys time
wibberg350 is offline  
Old 09-20-2011, 03:42 PM
  #6  
bbchevy
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fountain,MICHIGAN
Posts: 856
Default ?

Originally Posted by wibberg350
That's what I was told it made I got it hurt the class I'm in has to be iron headed I know I'm going to be leaving a ton of power on the table but what I'm asking is what heads and cam would you guys use I also under stand I would be better off with a smaller ci but I got a hell of a deal on the short block thanks for your guys time
Merlin 345.
Thought I had that Posted?
Not 100% Sure on the Shaft?
Seems it was 800/780 324/332 284/292 112 L/S
It was a GREAT Motor,for the Parts!
Later
G 8)
bbchevy is offline  
Old 09-20-2011, 04:01 PM
  #7  
TheRabbit
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheRabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Augusta, Ga.
Posts: 2,295
Default

This is one of the heads the truck puller use. My motor builder has a CNC program to get 440+ cfm out of 'em . Makes 940hp on a 520 ci motor. May make between 1,000-1,050hp on a maxed out 632 motor build.

http://www.racingheadservice.com/Cyl...st%20Iron.aspx
TheRabbit is offline  
Old 09-21-2011, 07:22 AM
  #8  
TheRabbit
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheRabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Augusta, Ga.
Posts: 2,295
Default

I'm a little slow, but it just hit me. 632, hurt without heads. You bought Fred's motor( from NY). If so, you gotta good deal. I thought about buying it myself. He had Ross pistons, but they're for 14* Big Chief heads not bb2's. You want be able to use them with the iron heads above.
Still a good buy if you have to get a set of pistons. And you can sell those to any of the NOS guys.
TheRabbit is offline  
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service