ignition retard on starting

Old 08-30-2011, 07:37 PM
  #1  
rhino058
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 19
Default ignition retard on starting

i have a 406 sbc with 12.3;1 comp, ive gone threw two flywheels and a few starters. NO the motor isnt siezed it turns by hand and runs great once it starts. My problem the starter turns the motor over a few revolutions then gets stuck on the flywheel and just goes to town grinding the teeth off.

I got a brand new flywheel in and a high torque starter fro powermaster on the way( a litlle over kill) now a friend of mine mentions due to me running around 38-40degrees of timing i should get a timing retard box for just under starting conditions ive neer dealt with anything i didn't think the motor would really need it but looking for some other opions i was just going to try to start with fresh flywheel and starter that deffintaly works but i dont want to destroy another round of parts
rhino058 is offline  
Old 08-30-2011, 08:39 PM
  #2  
olds48
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montvale, VA
Posts: 1,431
Default

I dont like to talk bad about anything,but i had a powermaster ultra xs starter that strained when starting my pump gas 496 11:1 comp.Was supposed to be good for 600 ci and 16:1 comp. fooey. Threw it on the shelf for a spare and put on a factory GM mini starter like you can get for the late model duallies.I think mine is for a 1999 454.Of course you have a sbc,but that factory mini starter ran (still is 3 years later)circles around any aftermarket mini i ever owned.If you have the staggered mounting holes you can use it.Run about $100 with no core charge.Only other "aftermarket" mini starter i ever had good luck with was a tuff stuff ,which turned out to be a re-packaged GM mini.HAHA Go figure :lol: As far as the flexplate,there alot of different sfi approved out there,i've been using chromoly ones lately.Not any more expensive,just gotta know which brand to buy to get the CM ones.Had good luck with that.Just my two cents...probably not worth that much
olds48 is offline  
Old 08-31-2011, 03:53 AM
  #3  
JEFF69Z28
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 496
Default

Small block 400's use a 164 tooth flex plate,try useing a msd starter saver it retards the timing 4 to 12 degrees on start up and it gives you steadier timing thas what i use on my 406
JEFF69Z28 is offline  
Old 08-31-2011, 04:07 PM
  #4  
482
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Default

I think the starter saver is like 10 degrees or 20 degrees depending on whether you cut the wire or not. It does work good though!
If you have a 7al3 box it has a 20 degree retard you can use. 8)
482 is offline  
Old 08-31-2011, 04:43 PM
  #5  
Scooterz
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: EUGENE,OR.
Posts: 3,408
Default

This is a little cheesy, but it worked when I was way younger:

I had to toggle-switch a dist once to "off" then crank motor & flip ign "on" while motor was already turning... fired up easy every time. I was too poor to afford any fancy delay box... used a good toggle & a fusible link into the dist.

Go ahead... call me a jimmie-rigger. It worked. Scooter
Scooterz is offline  
Old 08-31-2011, 05:47 PM
  #6  
TheRabbit
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheRabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Augusta, Ga.
Posts: 2,295
Default

My Power Master is several years old and turns my 632 with 15.8 compression like a toy. Yes, retarding the timing at startup will help it crank a lot easier. Also make sure you have a good battery with a good ground and positive wire.
TheRabbit is offline  
Old 08-31-2011, 10:11 PM
  #7  
TheYellaBrick
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheYellaBrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Emmett, Idaho
Posts: 7,334
Default

Originally Posted by Rigsby
This is a little cheesy, but it worked when I was way younger:

I had to toggle-switch a dist once to "off" then crank motor & flip ign "on" while motor was already turning... fired up easy every time. I was too poor to afford any fancy delay box... used a good toggle & a fusible link into the dist.

Go ahead... call me a jimmie-rigger. It worked. Scooter
Scoot,
I've this same setup on both my current and all my past race cars,drag-circle-road race. I have NEVER torn up a flywheel/flexplate-starter during startup using this system.


TheYellaBrick is offline  
Old 09-01-2011, 02:56 AM
  #8  
JEFF69Z28
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 496
Default

Originally Posted by Rigsby
This is a little cheesy, but it worked when I was way younger:

I had to toggle-switch a dist once to "off" then crank motor & flip ign "on" while motor was already turning... fired up easy every time. I was too poor to afford any fancy delay box... used a good toggle & a fusible link into the dist.


Go ahead... call me a jimmie-rigger. It worked. Scooter
allstar performance makes a switch to do this,part number 80140
JEFF69Z28 is offline  
Old 09-01-2011, 08:31 AM
  #9  
spib
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: EastWenatchee,WA
Posts: 887
Default

Originally Posted by JEFF69Z28
Originally Posted by Rigsby
This is a little cheesy, but it worked when I was way younger:

I had to toggle-switch a dist once to "off" then crank motor & flip ign "on" while motor was already turning... fired up easy every time. I was too poor to afford any fancy delay box... used a good toggle & a fusible link into the dist.


Go ahead... call me a jimmie-rigger. It worked. Scooter
allstar performance makes a switch to do this,part number 80140
after breaking a few starters, I got in the habit of always turning motor over and flipping ignition switch on after its turning over real good
I have a starter button and a seperate ignition switch
I start a 13.2 to1 motor with a $100 cheap mini starter has worked for 2 yrs racing, I have 33 deg fixed and I dont have a start retard box
spib is offline  
Old 09-01-2011, 01:12 PM
  #10  
mopar1968
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
mopar1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Abingdon,Virginia
Posts: 3,579
Default

That is the same way i start mine get her turning over good and flip the ignition switch and she comes alive :!: 12.1 engine :!:


Mark
mopar1968 is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service