piston dome?

Old 08-03-2011, 05:44 PM
  #1  
ejm
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: indiana
Posts: 123
Default piston dome?

closed chamber hads 2.25 int 1.88 ex stock oval bbc heads what dome can a guy run had flat tops in it and valves were taping pistons just needing a piston that will work
ejm is offline  
Old 08-03-2011, 09:23 PM
  #2  
hotrod1994
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: nekoosa wisconsin
Posts: 308
Default

ok they were hitting with flat tops right?
if so look for a dish piston not a dome
or find one with a smaller compression height
im not sure on a bbc but a sbc stock is 1.560 and a lot of oem replacements are 1.540
meaning the piston will not rise as high in the cylinder
try looking at silvolite there an oem replacement made by keith black not sure if they will have for your application but worth a shot

hope this helped
-logan
hotrod1994 is offline  
Old 08-04-2011, 02:57 AM
  #3  
ejm
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: indiana
Posts: 123
Default

but with a dome piston aren't the valve releifs bigger?
ejm is offline  
Old 08-04-2011, 05:51 AM
  #4  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

You can use a .250 dome piston with a closed chamber head and up to a .600 lift cam, i was doing that in the mid 80's with both a 427 and a 454 engine with a stock steel shim gaskets, if the heads haven't been milled too much and that could be the problem, maybe some one milled the heads a bunch. Either way it's best to check the valve to piston clearance before final assy. you need min. .080 on the intake and .120 on the exhaust clearance. I use modeling clay for checking.

Most of the dealers sell these pistons, jegs, summit, just be sure you tell them they are for closed chamber heads.

JMO

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  
Old 08-04-2011, 02:50 PM
  #5  
ejm
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: indiana
Posts: 123
Default

so if the heads are milled to much does a guy hafta go with a thicker gasket? if so hopefully they make one thick enough?
ejm is offline  
Old 08-04-2011, 05:32 PM
  #6  
DogGear
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Hey, If valves are hitting pistons and you cant rotate by hand any further.
Remove the valve springs from no1 cyl put head back on rotate it and see what kinda valve depth allowance your getting and keep your head gasket in the 30thousandths or .030 when figuring and measure and remeasure, cam should be straight up for this test to start but its just one of many starting points. If you have any questions you can Pm if you would like.
DogGear is offline  
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service