cam shaft help

Old 06-18-2011, 08:18 PM
  #1  
nutup
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 13
Default cam shaft help

how does everyone choose the advance on a new cam if it is not ground in already like 4 degree advance seams a number a lot of people use. Where do I find the happy medium. Or what determines the advance you should set cam at?
nutup is offline  
Old 06-19-2011, 06:28 AM
  #2  
contagious
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mobile,Al.
Posts: 127
Default cam

You need to degree your new cam when you install it.The cam manufacture may have advance built in the grind,or the timing chain and or timing sprockets,and key way may be off a little.You are only guessing if you don't degree the cam when you install it.There are several ways to advance or retard the cam,they sell a cam sprocket that you can move to set it where you want,or buy a crank sprocket with several different keyway's to set it with.In general if you advance the cam you will increase the power at a lower rpm,and if you retard the cam it will move the power up the rpm range,BUT there are always trade off's in doing this.Go to comp cams web site,they have a ton of info there,and here is a link as to how to degree the cam.

http://www.compcams.com/Technical/In.../Files/145.pdf
contagious is offline  
Old 06-19-2011, 11:19 AM
  #3  
nutup
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 13
Default

I know how to degree the cam what determines if you want to advance it . for more low end how much does 2 degrees advance change it or 4 degrees
nutup is offline  
Old 06-19-2011, 12:28 PM
  #4  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

Usually the size of the engine, compression, and weight of the car comes into play. If it's a heavy car and small engine most cam manufacturers recommend advancing it. EX: my car is 3200 lbs with a 377" it has a cam ground on 106 lobe ctr's. I install it at 102 for the torque needed. In fact i install almost every sm/blk racing cam at 102 unless it's a street engine with low compression. I have pretty good connections with Bullit and Comp cam, so i usually call and tell them what i have what do they recommend, with the enginge size,car weight,converter, gear and tire size.

JMO

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  
Old 06-20-2011, 10:05 AM
  #5  
oldandtired
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
oldandtired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sugar Hill, GA
Posts: 1,370
Default

I agree with both replies. I had a 427BBC blowing the tires off at low end and retarded the cam. I picked up ET, because it bit and them screamed thru the top end.
oldandtired is offline  
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service