Vacuum Pumps

Old 05-21-2011, 04:40 AM
  #1  
BEAST477
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
BEAST477's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,908
Default Vacuum Pumps

Guys I've developed a problem this year with crankcase pressure. I don't currently run a vacuum pump and I'm thinking it's time for one.
I'm still running my 540BBC the only changes I've made to it this year was to port the heads and build a set of headers. I picked up 2.5 tenths to my best of [email protected] 147. Is there a horsepower level that it pretty much needs one over pan e-vac tubes?
BEAST477 is offline  
Old 05-21-2011, 06:14 AM
  #2  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

There really isnt a horsepower level that you "must" have one. They are a great idea no matter and with the issues your having, its a even better investment.

Moroso 3 vane is the ticket IMO
hammertime is offline  
Old 05-21-2011, 10:27 AM
  #3  
wazup
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 345
Default

Originally Posted by hammertime
There really isnt a horsepower level that you "must" have one. They are a great idea no matter and with the issues your having, its a even better investment.

Moroso 3 vane is the ticket IMO
Its also worth a few more HP. I have seen as much as 25hp on 565 on the dyno. I run moroso 4 vane with line on the back of the block, pulling from under the intake.

Good luck

Nice car BTW
wazup is offline  
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service