Misfires at 6500

Old 05-01-2011, 06:15 PM
  #1  
BEAST477
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
BEAST477's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,908
Default Misfires at 6500

Anybody else ever have this problem?

When running my crank trigger it misfires at 6500 and up. Wont pull over 6700.
Now if I disconnect the crank trigger and hook back up to the distributor it runs fine.
I am running a altenator was wondering if that could be doing it?
BEAST477 is offline  
Old 05-01-2011, 08:18 PM
  #2  
fast75vega
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Niagara Falls, NY
Posts: 965
Default Re: Misfires at 6500

Originally Posted by BEAST477
Anybody else ever have this problem?

When running my crank trigger it misfires at 6500 and up. Wont pull over 6700.
Now if I disconnect the crank trigger and hook back up to the distributor it runs fine.
I am running a altenator was wondering if that could be doing it?
that what mine was doing and it was my tach messing up and back feeding :wink:
fast75vega is offline  
Old 05-02-2011, 02:02 AM
  #3  
BEAST477
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
BEAST477's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,908
Default Re: Misfires at 6500

Originally Posted by fast75vega
Originally Posted by BEAST477
Anybody else ever have this problem?

When running my crank trigger it misfires at 6500 and up. Wont pull over 6700.
Now if I disconnect the crank trigger and hook back up to the distributor it runs fine.
I am running a altenator was wondering if that could be doing it?
that what mine was doing and it was my tach messing up and back feeding :wink:
Yes, but it only does it when I'm trying to use the trigger. Runs fine with the distributor. Going to ohm the pickup and see what it reads I guess.
BEAST477 is offline  
Old 05-02-2011, 06:02 PM
  #4  
markdunlap
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: central Illinois
Posts: 459
Default misfires

Too much air gap?

.040" should work. Maybe even .030" just to see if that's it?
markdunlap is offline  
Old 05-02-2011, 07:12 PM
  #5  
BEAST477
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
BEAST477's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,908
Default Re: misfires

Originally Posted by markdunlap
Too much air gap?

.040" should work. Maybe even .030" just to see if that's it?
I thought .060 air gap was the minimum.
BEAST477 is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 07:01 AM
  #6  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default Re: misfires

Originally Posted by BEAST477
Originally Posted by markdunlap
Too much air gap?

.040" should work. Maybe even .030" just to see if that's it?
I thought .060 air gap was the minimum.
It is .. no need to run under 60. I always run mine @ 65. It missed at 100 gap.


Did you phase it in when using the crank trigger ? Make sure no magnets are loose on the wheel itself, and last I have a few spare pickups, your welcome to try one.
hammertime is offline  
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service