what cam for a sbc 434"

Old 03-23-2011, 03:30 PM
  #1  
bowler
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 103
Default what cam for a sbc 434"

my car weights 2450# w/ me in it, P/G with a contintental conv. 5000 stall (on t. brake), 4.56 gears, 32" tires, the motor has 6" rods, 4" stroke, (23degree) AFR 227cc ported heads, 14.8 to 1 compression, the current cam is a Bullet specs: dur. @ .050 278/286, lift 660/647, degree intake lobe to 104. this setup ran 1.418 60', [email protected] deep staging my question is would a new cam make much of a difference? also i'am thinkig about new AFR 235cc heads. thanks in advance for your suggestions. Doug
I also think I need a different converter would help the 60' times?
bowler is offline  
Old 03-23-2011, 07:03 PM
  #2  
fast75vega
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Niagara Falls, NY
Posts: 965
Default

the cam is fine ..... my opinion.... i think the heads will be your bigger gain in performance..... them heads flow some serious numbers stock.......
fast75vega is offline  
Old 03-24-2011, 04:02 AM
  #3  
curtisreed
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
curtisreed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: KIEFER, OK.
Posts: 1,311
Default

Doug,
You say the cam is in at 104 but what is the LSA? I would like to see a higher stall convertor myself, who have you talked to? You might call FTI convertors and see what they think.

Curtis
curtisreed is offline  
Old 03-24-2011, 09:52 AM
  #4  
bowler
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 103
Default cam/converter

Curtis the cam is in at 108, i also changed my post on the 60' time it was 1.418, i run at Woodburn in a class for front engine dragsters, roadsters & altereds with a 4ths. pro tree when i deep stage i can cut a very good light & when i run pro class i shallow stage it is 1.37-1.38, i sent 2 converters to contintental 1 he said he does not use the other he told me that i would really like it & thats the one that i'am using, this year i moved the M/T back & added another battery now have 53% on back of the car & went to a shorter tire, first race is May 1st. Curtis who is FTI?, i think i need a different converter. thanks Doug
bowler is offline  
Old 03-24-2011, 10:32 AM
  #5  
curtisreed
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
curtisreed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: KIEFER, OK.
Posts: 1,311
Default

http://fticonverters.com/

There are a lot of guys having getting good results with his stuff. I myself have an older Neal Chance. We have 4 different Chance converters that work really well but haven't bought anything from Marty in a while. There are a lot of good converter companies out there Abruzzi is another. FTI seems to have good customer service also.

Doug, I don't think your cam is a problem.


Curtis
curtisreed is offline  
Old 03-24-2011, 03:29 PM
  #6  
bowler
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 103
Default cam/converter

Thanks Curtis, if i buy the AFR heads i thought it would be a good time to change the cam but it sounds like the one i have is ok, so instead of a cam it will be a new converter, hope to do it before the end of april thanks again Doug
bowler is offline  
Old 03-24-2011, 03:56 PM
  #7  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Originally Posted by doorracer
http://fticonverters.com/

There are a lot of guys having getting good results with his stuff. I myself have an older Neal Chance. We have 4 different Chance converters that work really well but haven't bought anything from Marty in a while. There are a lot of good converter companies out there Abruzzi is another. FTI seems to have good customer service also.

Doug, I don't think your cam is a problem.


Curtis
Call FTI and ask for Greg .. tell him I sent ya, he is good people and his customer support is the tops in the business .. I've ran MANY and its not if they can hit .. its what happens if they dont. FTI has a 1 year warranty and has no issue with taking care of a stall change if they opps ... many others claim they will but in deed do not
hammertime is offline  
Old 03-24-2011, 06:37 PM
  #8  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default Cam selection

I don't know, but i've alway found that the lower lift cams produce more touque than the higher lift cams. I also install every cam at 102 if the car weighs more than 2300lbs. Case in point i built a 388" cheap motor with AFR 335's fully ported for a 3000 lb Camero ladder bar car. It has 14X33 tires with a 5.83 gear 1/8 mi car only, also a 5500 PTC converter with a PG. The heads were 48CC, and had a 3 3/4" toilet bowl on alcohol. 14.86 compression.
It had 1.27 60' time at 3 different tracks. i installed the cam at 102. it was an old on the shelf cam, that i didn't think would work with this heavy of a car. But at 72 yrs old i'm still learning. Below is the cam i installed using 1.5 rockers. I know it's hard to believe but there are 100's of witnessses and many saw it run 5.92 at Byhalia last [email protected] MPH, with 1.27 60' times, carrieing the wheels for 100 ft plus.


Below is the cam used, i don't like it but real hard to argue with results.

Zip.


http://www.lunatipower.com/Product.aspx?id=1820&gid=253
zipper06 is offline  
Old 03-24-2011, 07:16 PM
  #9  
bowler
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 103
Default cam

Zip that is amazing! i'am going to put a set of AFR235cc heads on it and will most likly change the converter and see what it will run, over the winter i built another set of zoomies for it and will run the nostalgia races with them and put the collector headers on for div. 6 races, will be interesting to see how much it slows down? talk to you later Doug
bowler is offline  
Old 03-24-2011, 08:57 PM
  #10  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

Doug i think it will slow down about a tenth with the zoomies VS collectors, but please change the cam to 102/103 to realize the torque on the bottom end which is where the most ET and 60' values come in.. Don't forget to check the valve clearance because they could be closer with the 102* setting. good luch and happy hauling.

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service