egt probes

Old 01-23-2011, 09:46 AM
  #1  
dcsquare
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mount Sterling KY
Posts: 16
Default egt probes

The dragster I have has an altronics "informer" in it . I am trying to find the compression fittings for the egt sensors. They have a 7/16-24 male thread above the compression ring and need to go to an 1/8 pipe thread weld in bung. Apparently the guy left the bottom part of the compression fitting in his headers, now they are gone. Anybody know where i can find these type of fittings?
dcsquare is offline  
Old 01-24-2011, 07:30 PM
  #2  
markdunlap
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: central Illinois
Posts: 459
Default EGT

Go to the hardware store and check out 1/8" copper tubing compression fittings.
markdunlap is offline  
Old 01-25-2011, 02:12 AM
  #3  
dcsquare
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mount Sterling KY
Posts: 16
Default

won't work those have a compression NUT, this is like a compression BOLT. Looks like a Honeywell gas orafice fitting.
dcsquare is offline  
Old 01-25-2011, 05:15 PM
  #4  
482
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Default

Did you call Altronics? 1-888-464-2587
482 is offline  
Old 01-26-2011, 03:29 PM
  #5  
dcsquare
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mount Sterling KY
Posts: 16
Default

Yes. Don't not make it anymore. Would have to special order and for the price they charged me for the compression fitting they use now (which is of the "$1.50 hardware store" variety::::"nut and ferrel") I do not want to special order...I was hoping it would be the version they used before. Don't get me wrong they have been very helpful with the outdated unit. Will look in MSC or McMaster Carr. thanks!!!!
dcsquare is offline  
Old 01-26-2011, 08:45 PM
  #6  
gearhead1011
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
gearhead1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Shepherdsville, KY
Posts: 313
Default

Can you just cut off the existing ferrule and replace it with the newer style? I would try using a small grinder or die grinder and carefully cut through the ferrule.
gearhead1011 is offline  
Old 01-28-2011, 04:30 PM
  #7  
dcsquare
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mount Sterling KY
Posts: 16
Default

Possible but not what I wanted to do . Bolt on!!!!
dcsquare is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service