Air filter kit for my truck

Old 12-30-2010, 05:13 PM
  #1  
laxking012
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Delmar, MD
Posts: 83
Default Air filter kit for my truck

I found a air filter kit for a 1994 s10 with the 4.3L v6 engine, will it fit on my 1994 GMC c1500 with a 4.3L v6? I'm assuming they are the same engine and throttle body? It's part #KNN-57-3029 on Summit Racing's website if you need to know what it is exactly.
laxking012 is offline  
Old 12-30-2010, 09:05 PM
  #2  
dragonmaster093
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: kingsport tn
Posts: 1,735
Default

im gonna say no because of the distance from air box to engine s-10 has compact engine bay and full size truck is larger stylin trucks or spector will have them
dragonmaster093 is offline  
Old 12-31-2010, 07:40 AM
  #3  
laxking012
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Delmar, MD
Posts: 83
Default

ok, i was just looking at spector's website and all their air cleaners say they fit carburetors and tbi thorttle bodies with 5 1/8" neck, so will that fit my truck?

also what does anybody think of putting just the Spectre Performance Muscle Car Air Cleaners on my truck? I figured it would be better because it is a lot more open, not having all the pipes and air box, just the air filter and top and bottom plates
laxking012 is offline  
Old 12-31-2010, 01:35 PM
  #4  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

Something to consider, if winters are cold where you are, the tbi throttle body will frost up in a hurry without the hot air tube found on stock air cleaners. It'll load up and probably die at idle until it gets warm....

Johnny
johnracer is offline  
Old 01-02-2011, 01:40 PM
  #5  
laxking012
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Delmar, MD
Posts: 83
Default

Johnny, wouldn't the hot air tube be removed with any kind of aftermarket air kits? All the cold air kits I've seen don't use the tube.
laxking012 is offline  
Old 01-02-2011, 02:23 PM
  #6  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

You are correct as far as I know. Just wanted you to be aware of how it will run in cold temps. You might consider keeping the stock air cleaner and heat tube for winter operation.......TBI's frost up bigtime in winter without the heat tube. It'll clear up when warmed up, but you might have to babysit it for a while.


Johnny
johnracer is offline  
Old 01-02-2011, 03:00 PM
  #7  
laxking012
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Delmar, MD
Posts: 83
Default

hmm. I didn't think that tube really made much of a difference
laxking012 is offline  
Old 02-24-2011, 09:04 PM
  #8  
dragonmaster093
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: kingsport tn
Posts: 1,735
Default

i know guys back in iowa that run cold air intakes in winter with no issues
dragonmaster093 is offline  
Old 02-25-2011, 10:47 AM
  #9  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

TBI's are the only ones I've seen frost up. I think it's because the injectors spray directly on the throttle blades...

Johnny
johnracer is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service