( I need some input ) Fat Lady Switch or Trans Trigger ???

Old 11-11-2010, 02:14 PM
  #1  
l273
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5
Default ( I need some input ) Fat Lady Switch or Trans Trigger ???

I would like to know what everyone thinks about these
Fat Lady Switch or Trans Trigger ???

1: Fat Lady switch controller
www.thefatladyracing.com/switch.html

2: Shoot the light with STL trans brake trigger
www.shootthelite.com/products/products.htm

3: Richard Charnock Trans Trigger
I can not find a website for this one
If any one knows of a website for Richard Charnock Trans Trigger
Please post it.

:?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?:
l273 is offline  
Old 11-11-2010, 03:44 PM
  #2  
fla1976
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
fla1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,534
Default

You can contact him at the attached site.



http://drr.infopop.cc/eve/personal?x...e&u=7391018282
fla1976 is offline  
Old 11-11-2010, 04:12 PM
  #3  
TheRabbit
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheRabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Augusta, Ga.
Posts: 2,295
Default

Richard Charnock use to have a transmission shop in Augusta for years and years on Gordon Hwy, but it's been closed for a good while. He did a few for me back when I use to race Fords.
TheRabbit is offline  
Old 11-11-2010, 06:11 PM
  #4  
slowmotion
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Staunton, IL
Posts: 943
Default

As for the first one. It seems it would be more inconsistent to push and relase a button the 2nd time as opposed to just releasing. You would have to hold your thumb at the same exact distance each time. Even if you are just touching the button waiting to press and release, You might be off of it a little or have it partially depressed without knowing.

Here's a thread on the trans trigger, I don't have an opinion on it. http://drr.infopop.cc/eve/forums/a/t.../309102431/p/2
slowmotion is offline  
Old 11-11-2010, 07:05 PM
  #5  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

All you really need is an adjustable button, almost everyone i know running a pro tree 4.00 lite just uses the adjustable and it's cheap.

JMO

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  
Old 11-11-2010, 07:27 PM
  #6  
THERATTLER
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
THERATTLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: LICKSKILLET , MISSISSIPPI
Posts: 1,474
Default

man that first one seems like alot of thinks to do , I agree , a simple adjustable button is simple , simple is better (and cheaper) J M O
THERATTLER is offline  
Old 11-12-2010, 05:09 AM
  #7  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

no website for the trans trigger. My take on any button setup, each person is different and so follows the results of using them. I've checked out all the buttons you've mentioned even spent sometime with 2 of them and I stay with my normal B&M button and feel its better for me. What are you after with wanting to change buttons ? Quicker, more consistent or what ?
hammertime is offline  
Old 11-12-2010, 03:49 PM
  #8  
spib
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: EastWenatchee,WA
Posts: 887
Default

thats a lot of money and makes something simple not very simple
this is what I got, I like it
http://www.jegs.com/i/JEGS/555/10352/10002/-1
spib is offline  
Old 11-13-2010, 04:47 AM
  #9  
shawnp
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 937
Default

Tried the trans trigger. I have bigger hands and it was not comfortable in my hand at all. I know a few left handed guys could not get comfortable on it.

I tried a design similar to one of the shoot the light designs. It was a trigger style T-handle. Pushed it in to set and then pulled it to release. Was not a bad choice.

Also have a pressure sensitive button that is adjustable. It was a pretty cool button to use but was inconsistent as all hell.

To this day, I stick with the small metal mushroom button.

shawnp is offline  
Old 11-13-2010, 07:31 AM
  #10  
RonOwensRacing
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: florence ky
Posts: 498
Default

I don't know what delay box you have but i run the K&R Z-force box that does the same thing and i only use a large mushroom button .

Stage click the button and when you see the lite click it again has been great for me.
RonOwensRacing is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service