Wiring for an LS

Old 10-16-2010, 06:09 PM
  #1  
ogles824
Member
MASTER JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 45
Default Wiring for an LS

We are going to pull the motor out of our project show 1988 K5 Blazer to repair a leaking rear main seal and was thinking of doing some mods to it while we had it out. It is a TBI 350 and is the correct motor but not numbers matching so that opens the door to other options like just opting to change the whole thing our for a Corvette LS motor from EBay . I was told at a car show that there are wiring harnesses available out there that can be custom made to be "plug and play" for almost any application including ours so we can just set the motor in with it's computer and plug directly into our existing harness and be ready to go with no hassles. Can anybody point me in that direction????
ogles824 is offline  
Old 10-16-2010, 07:46 PM
  #2  
MEMRACING62
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: orland pk il
Posts: 2,429
Default

these guys should be able to help you. http://www.painlesswiring.com/webcatalog/index.php
MEMRACING62 is offline  
Old 10-16-2010, 09:03 PM
  #3  
ogles824
Member
MASTER JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 45
Default

Thanks mem, also I'm needing to know if I can bolt this engine to the 7R400 transmission without much hassle. I have contacted Painless Wiring to see if they have a harness that will let us run this engine trans combo. Also does the stock motor mounts work with the LS based motors or will I have to change those out too? If we go this route I'm sure I will buy new mounts because the ones that are on the Blazer are probably OEM and very old. I just need to know if I need to be looking at something different than what I have.
ogles824 is offline  
Old 10-16-2010, 09:21 PM
  #4  
MEMRACING62
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: orland pk il
Posts: 2,429
Default

http://www.jegs.com/webapp/wcs/store...explate+spacer
MEMRACING62 is offline  
Old 10-16-2010, 09:22 PM
  #5  
MEMRACING62
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: orland pk il
Posts: 2,429
Default

was reading an article the other night in chevy hp, they said this is all you need, see above link. motor mount location is different, but adapters are avalable for conversion
MEMRACING62 is offline  
Old 10-17-2010, 11:33 AM
  #6  
ogles824
Member
MASTER JOURNEYMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 45
Default

Thanks again MEM, I have also shot an e-mail to Trans Dapt about motor mounts as well....I'll post the results when I get them.......
ogles824 is offline  
Old 10-27-2010, 04:45 AM
  #7  
MEMRACING62
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: orland pk il
Posts: 2,429
Default

Im kinda leaning towards doing an LQ9 in a malibu as my next project. I have good access to well maintained one start with.
MEMRACING62 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service