HELP-Soft 60' Times

Old 09-21-2010, 02:51 PM
  #1  
npauline442
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Default HELP-Soft 60' Times

I have made some new PB's and the car now runs [email protected] pretty consistent. IM happy with that but i still think the 60' times are off. Had a best 60 of 1.47. With a 5.00 gear and a glide at a 4800 launch i think it should be lower. RPM thru the traps was 7200. I called a couple of converter guys and the consesus was that the 60' times indicate the converter is tight but the rpm at the big end indicates the converter is loose. The only good info they could use was the mph as an indication of horsepower. The converter is only a 9" though. Would I see a good increase in 60' and ET if i were to buy a 8" custom race converter? Does any of this information make sense? Seen it before? Reccomendations?

Thanks,

Nick
npauline442 is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 03:26 PM
  #2  
traysvega
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 87
Default Re: HELP-Soft 60' Times

Originally Posted by npauline442
I have made some new PB's and the car now runs [email protected] pretty consistent. IM happy with that but i still think the 60' times are off. Had a best 60 of 1.47. With a 5.00 gear and a glide at a 4800 launch i think it should be lower. RPM thru the traps was 7200. I called a couple of converter guys and the consesus was that the 60' times indicate the converter is tight but the rpm at the big end indicates the converter is loose. The only good info they could use was the mph as an indication of horsepower. The converter is only a 9" though. Would I see a good increase in 60' and ET if i were to buy a 8" custom race converter? Does any of this information make sense? Seen it before? Reccomendations?

Thanks,

Nick
IMO 8 inch race converter(really need cam specs),Transbrake leaving at 4800 with a brake stall of 5500.Might be even able to drop the gear alittle to a 4.something with still a high 9 sec. e.t..I'd look for (given everythings right) mid 1.30's to high 30's.Still alot of variables though.

Does the converter you have now max stall around 4800 to 5k?If so ,try leaving alittle lower on the rpm to flash the verter more.
traysvega is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 04:16 PM
  #3  
cam67152
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: B.C. Canada
Posts: 145
Default

What size tire?
cam67152 is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 05:32 PM
  #4  
npauline442
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Default

tire size is 33"

cam is a .740/.710 solid roller, 280 or so duration(dont hold me to it)

If i pull the chip i can thru uo the brake to about 5500.
npauline442 is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 11:59 PM
  #5  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

X2 hit the converter a little harder, maybe around 4200, you could pick up a couple hundreds by doing this. You didn't say how much the car weighs, but last sat. with a 388" 2950lb car leaving at 3600 on the chip 5500 stall converter, we went 1.442 and there's alittle left in it, track wasn't preped very good.

JMO

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 05:33 AM
  #6  
wrightway
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: LAWTON MI
Posts: 113
Default

I two step mine at 3400rpm 9 converter (5000 on brake)
4.00 rear gear 29 tire 7500rpm at top end
Avg 60 = 1.48 best =1.44
Avg ET = 10.21 best = 10.09
Avg MPH = 132 best = 135.5

With a 5.00 gear you should have a better 60
Is it spinning?
wrightway is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service