Dragster front tires?

Old 08-23-2010, 11:43 AM
  #1  
kwkracing
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: austin texas
Posts: 729
Default Dragster front tires?

Does anyone use a tube in a front dragster tire? I believe they are good year 17 x 2.25. They have about 20 passes on them, every time the car sits for a day or two, they are flat.
kwkracing is offline  
Old 08-23-2010, 12:28 PM
  #2  
suicidebomb
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Independence, Missouri
Posts: 1,188
Default

I run tubes in mine, same size tires.
suicidebomb is offline  
Old 08-23-2010, 12:31 PM
  #3  
ccperf721p
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 116
Default

I don't run tubes or know anybody that does in dragster fronts. The trick I was taught was to rub a little palmolive dish soap inside before mounting them up. Mine will hold air for months since I started doing that.
ccperf721p is offline  
Old 08-23-2010, 01:35 PM
  #4  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

for sure no tubes, go do a search on the www about tubes blowing out and dragsters wrecking.
hammertime is offline  
Old 08-23-2010, 02:29 PM
  #5  
kwkracing
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: austin texas
Posts: 729
Default

Any other advise on getting them to quit leaking? Tonight i might try to take them off and put in water and see where they are leaking? They look to be mounted good. Thanks
kwkracing is offline  
Old 08-23-2010, 03:06 PM
  #6  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Spray some soapy water around the bead and see where its leaking. Some use a bead sealer on them, I've always just soaped the fronts and no issues.
hammertime is offline  
Old 08-23-2010, 04:13 PM
  #7  
kwkracing
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: austin texas
Posts: 729
Default

How much air psi should i be running? its a 280" hardtail
kwkracing is offline  
Old 08-23-2010, 04:38 PM
  #8  
suicidebomb
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Independence, Missouri
Posts: 1,188
Default

I'll be taking mine out.
suicidebomb is offline  
Old 08-23-2010, 06:18 PM
  #9  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

I run 32lbs in my fronts.
hammertime is offline  
Old 08-23-2010, 07:18 PM
  #10  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

X2 on the dish soap, works well with tubeless slicks also, just take a paint brush and paint the insides before mounting and balancing, put a little extra air in them for a couple days. Usually they'll never leak unless you run over something, then they are a bitch to patch.

JMO

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service