fan shroud

Old 08-14-2010, 07:44 AM
  #1  
henny
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Beaverton Ontario Canada
Posts: 87
Default fan shroud

How many guys use a fan shroud with an electric fan>? If so, have you tried it before and after?
My fan is right against the rad and I would have to space it back a bit to bit any type of conical shroud on
thanks
Tom
henny is offline  
Old 08-14-2010, 09:15 AM
  #2  
curtisreed
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
curtisreed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: KIEFER, OK.
Posts: 1,311
Default

I have done both and will not run without a shroud again. We have aluminum radiators in all of our cars and I made aluminum sheet metal shrouds specific to each one. There is a significant difference in the amount of air moved over all of the radiator when you use a shroud not just the smaller area covered by the fan. When the car is moving it is not such a difference but at low speeds and between rounds it is much better.

Curtis
curtisreed is offline  
Old 08-14-2010, 02:07 PM
  #3  
henny
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Beaverton Ontario Canada
Posts: 87
Default

Thanks Curtis for the info and advice
henny is offline  
Old 08-14-2010, 03:07 PM
  #4  
burnskustomz
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Booneville,Ms
Posts: 505
Default

One question I have is it possible to use an electric fan and mech. fan at the same time and does it kool any better?
burnskustomz is offline  
Old 08-14-2010, 09:11 PM
  #5  
henny
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Beaverton Ontario Canada
Posts: 87
Default

I think you can have an electric in front of the rad to act as a pusher, but never done it, so I am not sure how well it works
henny is offline  
Old 08-15-2010, 07:11 AM
  #6  
curtisreed
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
curtisreed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: KIEFER, OK.
Posts: 1,311
Default

Originally Posted by burnskustomz
One question I have is it possible to use an electric fan and mech. fan at the same time and does it kool any better?
If you have a shroud for the electric it would block the mechanical. If you have a shroud for the mechanical then the electric is just an obstruction. Don't know why you would want to lose the HP with a mechanical if the electric is doing the job?

Curtis
curtisreed is offline  
Old 08-15-2010, 07:26 AM
  #7  
burnskustomz
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Booneville,Ms
Posts: 505
Default

Originally Posted by doorracer
Originally Posted by burnskustomz
One question I have is it possible to use an electric fan and mech. fan at the same time and does it kool any better?
If you have a shroud for the electric it would block the mechanical. If you have a shroud for the mechanical then the electric is just an obstruction. Don't know why you would want to lose the HP with a mechanical if the electric is doing the job?

Curtis
Just wondering my electric fan doesn't kick on til it's done way way above 210 and when it gets above 210 it just quits, dies, and idles really really low.
burnskustomz is offline  
Old 08-15-2010, 03:54 PM
  #8  
henny
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Beaverton Ontario Canada
Posts: 87
Default

Do you mean the fan dies after it comes on at 210?
. Mine is just on a toggle switch, but I should really get it temp activated
henny is offline  
Old 08-15-2010, 04:17 PM
  #9  
burnskustomz
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Booneville,Ms
Posts: 505
Default

Naw it doesn't cut on til 210 atleast sometimes it never cuts on thats why I don't drive it much. And I'm fixing to get mine on a toggle.
burnskustomz is offline  
Old 08-15-2010, 05:27 PM
  #10  
henny
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Beaverton Ontario Canada
Posts: 87
Default

I think the only problem with the toggle is that you may forget to shut it off or else you have to stay by it for it to cool down enought to shut off
Could be a PITA if this is a street car, to have to wait around
Maybe the sensor you have is not working properly anymore..??
henny is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service