installing problem

Old 07-29-2010, 05:21 PM
  #1  
motorobb625
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8
Default installing problem

hello! quick question, i am putting an older used tranny (350 turbo) in with a older 350sbc. the torq converter is tightened to the flywheel and its good, but when i snug the tranny to the block i can no longer turn it over. when there is about ia 16th'' gap it turns over fine with screw driver. thanks in advance!
motorobb625 is offline  
Old 07-29-2010, 06:09 PM
  #2  
motorobb625
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8
Default any ideas?

any idea what is wrong?
motorobb625 is offline  
Old 07-29-2010, 06:19 PM
  #3  
ccperf721p
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 116
Default

Converter not seated in the pump is the likely cause. If you tightened the bellhousing bolts it probably broke the front pump in the trans
ccperf721p is offline  
Old 07-29-2010, 08:25 PM
  #4  
kwkracing
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: austin texas
Posts: 729
Default

You need to rotate the convertor a few more time in the tranny pump with the tranny unbolted, The convertor is not all the way in the pump
kwkracing is offline  
Old 07-30-2010, 03:45 AM
  #5  
JEFF69Z28
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 496
Default

Originally Posted by kwkracing
You need to rotate the convertor a few more time in the tranny pump with the tranny unbolted, The convertor is not all the way in the pump
x2
JEFF69Z28 is offline  
Old 07-31-2010, 05:23 AM
  #6  
chevyfireball
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Napier, New Zealand
Posts: 230
Default

When the converter is all the way on the shaft properly, spin it and you'll hear a clicking sound. That shows its engaged properly.
chevyfireball is offline  
Old 07-31-2010, 05:29 AM
  #7  
JEFF69Z28
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 496
Default

Originally Posted by chevyfireball
When the converter is all the way on the shaft properly, spin it and you'll hear a clicking sound. That shows its engaged properly.
X10
JEFF69Z28 is offline  
Old 08-02-2010, 04:32 PM
  #8  
Scooterz
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: EUGENE,OR.
Posts: 3,408
Default

X1,003,500,862,infinity X2 power.
Scooterz is offline  
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service