434 Help

Old 05-10-2010, 08:20 AM
  #1  
bryanm
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 79
Default 434 Help

I took my brand new 434 sbf to the track this weekend. The motor ran great on the dyno, it runs great and clean in the burnout box but it seems to struggle to pull past 5000 RPM, it eventually will but is not reving clean after that either. I pulled plugs and they looked pretty lean so I fattened it up a total of 6 steps and it didnt change it, I finally tried a new carb and that didnt change it either. I am thinking it is fuel pump now but wanted some other opinions. What do you think?
bryanm is offline  
Old 05-10-2010, 11:16 AM
  #2  
curtisreed
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
curtisreed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: KIEFER, OK.
Posts: 1,311
Default

Have had a bad convertor do the exact thing you are describing.

Curtis
curtisreed is offline  
Old 05-10-2010, 11:26 AM
  #3  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

[quote="doorracer"]Have had a bad convertor do the exact thing you are describing.

Yep, me too. By any chance is your new 434 replacing one that blew up? That'll often damage a convertor.....
Johnny
johnracer is offline  
Old 05-10-2010, 12:57 PM
  #4  
bryanm
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 79
Default

I broke a rod on the old motor, i wouldnt say that it blew up though.
bryanm is offline  
Old 05-10-2010, 01:06 PM
  #5  
bryanm
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 79
Default

The plugs never darkened up after the jet changes either, I hope it is not the connverter.
bryanm is offline  
Old 05-10-2010, 01:28 PM
  #6  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

That sudden stop of the engine when a rod breaks can damage the stator in the converter very easily. I've done it and seen others. Have you checked the stall? Is it the same as before? Should be higher if you're making more power. Will be much lower if the stator is broken. Does it sputter or just seem like it's laboring?
Johnny
johnracer is offline  
Old 05-10-2010, 03:08 PM
  #7  
bryanm
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 79
Default

It stalls fine, about 200-300rpm higher than the old motor, it labors to get past 5000rpm and then seems to sputter/surge. People watching the car say you can hear it in the sound of the motor.
bryanm is offline  
Old 05-11-2010, 07:15 AM
  #8  
gimmemud
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ms.
Posts: 191
Default

What fuel pump, and how is it plumbed from cell to pump and pump to regulator?
gimmemud is offline  
Old 05-11-2010, 01:39 PM
  #9  
bryanm
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 79
Default

It is an Aeromotive A2000, # 10 to the regulator then #6 into a 2 into 1 to carb. It worked fine with my 408, the more I talk to people the more I am starting to think it may be converter. It just seems that with how much I fattened it up it should have run worse. I have 89 in front and 99 in back, the car should have been blubbering and burninn your eyes rich I would think but maybe not.
bryanm is offline  
Old 05-14-2010, 06:20 PM
  #10  
chevyart
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 173
Default fuel system problem?

any chence there is a problem with any sort of obstruction in the fuel system. you may or may not have the right pressure and volume at top end. is there any sort of pressure guage you can see going through the traps just a thought art
chevyart is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service