Distrbutor gears

Old 05-01-2010, 09:43 AM
  #1  
suicidebomb
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Independence, Missouri
Posts: 1,188
Default Distrbutor gears

Does anyone know anything about the "composite" dist. gears, that several companys, are offering to run on roller cams. Some companys are claiming 6X less wear with the "composite gear, than bronze. They also are going for about three times the cost of a bronze gear.
suicidebomb is offline  
Old 05-01-2010, 10:50 AM
  #2  
ccperf721p
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 116
Default

I haven't used one myself but out of the 4 guys I know running them, 2 of them have sheared the teeth in less than 100 passes, the other 2 have been fine for a ton of passes.

I've just stuck with bronze simply because I've never had one fail.
ccperf721p is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 11:11 PM
  #3  
cepx111
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,044
Default Re: Distrbutor gears

You mis-spelled distributor :shock:

Originally Posted by suicidebomb
They also are going for about three times the cost of a bronze gear.
I would of just bought three (3) bronze gears
cepx111 is offline  
Old 05-04-2010, 04:17 AM
  #4  
suicidebomb
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Independence, Missouri
Posts: 1,188
Default Re: Distrbutor gears

Originally Posted by cepx111
You mis-spelled distributor :shock:

Originally Posted by suicidebomb
They also are going for about three times the cost of a bronze gear.
I would of just bought three (3) bronze gears

Yep, should have said Vertex.
suicidebomb is offline  
Old 05-04-2010, 07:15 AM
  #5  
TheRabbit
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheRabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Augusta, Ga.
Posts: 2,295
Default

I ran one for several years. No problems at all. I've use two different engine builders over the last 3 years and both told me to use the composite instead of the old style brass gear.
Fits Chevy of course. It's been in my tool box for a year and I remember it did have some wear, but if it weren't reusable I'd have probably thrown it away. I still have it, send me your info and I'll mail it to you.
TheRabbit is offline  
Old 05-04-2010, 07:24 AM
  #6  
suicidebomb
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Independence, Missouri
Posts: 1,188
Default

Thanks Rabbit, I appreciate it, but I already have one. Think I'm leaning towards the bronze gear. Thanks again tho.
suicidebomb is offline  
Old 05-04-2010, 08:37 PM
  #7  
cepx111
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,044
Default Re: Distrbutor gears

Originally Posted by suicidebomb
Originally Posted by cepx111
You mis-spelled distributor :shock:

Originally Posted by suicidebomb
They also are going for about three times the cost of a bronze gear.
I would of just bought three (3) bronze gears

Yep, should have said Vertex.
You just had to rub that "I got a MAGNETO and you DONT" shiznit in didnt ya! :lol: :lol:
cepx111 is offline  
Old 05-05-2010, 07:41 AM
  #8  
cncmotorsports
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Brookings South Dakota
Posts: 244
Default

We run them on every motor that we ship out the door.
We use the lunati Everwear gears.
cncmotorsports is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 06:39 AM
  #9  
CamBirdRacing
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 510
Default

I have been running a bronze gear on my Pontiac for about 4 years with no wear. Of course, Pontiac has a factory cam thrust plate that allows little cam walk. I believe that cam walk is what wears out gears.
CamBirdRacing is offline  
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service