Can I block PG cooler line fittings?

Old 03-07-2010, 10:42 AM
  #1  
triniemi
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 83
Default Can I block PG cooler line fittings?

What happens if I just block the oil circulation from the cooler? Does something break or what? My tranny guy told me that powerglide is designed so that if cooler gets filled with trash, particles etc, the tranny still works.

Original tranny case and I think it's original pump.
triniemi is offline  
Old 03-07-2010, 12:12 PM
  #2  
shawnp
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 937
Default

You circulate from the trans into the cooler and then out to the trans so, the only place the cooler can pick up any debris is thru the fluid coming into it. If you got debris that is going to create circulation problems in the cooler, you have bigger problems in the trans. If you eliminate the trans cooler, your trans temps are going to get ridiculous and your trans is not going to like that either.
shawnp is offline  
Old 03-07-2010, 04:47 PM
  #3  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default Re: Can I block PG cooler line fittings?

Originally Posted by triniemi
What happens if I just block the oil circulation from the cooler? Does something break or what? My tranny guy told me that powerglide is designed so that if cooler gets filled with trash, particles etc, the tranny still works.

Original tranny case and I think it's original pump.
maybe he meant he blocked the cooler bypass off ??
hammertime is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 08:02 AM
  #4  
triniemi
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 83
Default

No, I meant just what I wroted on the first post. I didn't have cooler in my PG with last 150 passes, changed oil every 50 passes and it seemed to be ok. Tranny temp never got over 180F.

I have just line that goes out and then back in the case and that line has leak so I thought maybe I could just block the cooler line fittings completely.
triniemi is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 08:33 AM
  #5  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Originally Posted by triniemi
No, I meant just what I wroted on the first post. I didn't have cooler in my PG with last 150 passes, changed oil every 50 passes and it seemed to be ok. Tranny temp never got over 180F.

I have just line that goes out and then back in the case and that line has leak so I thought maybe I could just block the cooler line fittings completely.
It has to still be looped for the fluid to move if not you'll have major issues.
hammertime is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 10:53 AM
  #6  
shawnp
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 937
Default

I got to ask why would you not want to run a cooler? Is this a car that is towed to the line with very little run time to build any type of heat? You would still want a loop for circulation purposes but that is just my opinion.
shawnp is offline  
Old 03-08-2010, 10:29 PM
  #7  
cepx111
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,044
Default

X3 you've got to loop them.

To me, looping the transmission "COOLING" lines would be the equivilent of looping the radiator hoses, it's never a good idea to take the cooler part of the equation, wheter you "THINK" you need it or not.

If your tranny is only running 180 degrees then think how cool it would be if you did have a cooler? You might not even have to change the fluid then? It for sure would last longer, it only takes a small cooler to do alot of work and IMO installing one would be, by far, one of your better investments.



JM> 2 cents, Cp
cepx111 is offline  
Old 03-09-2010, 03:13 AM
  #8  
chevyfireball
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Napier, New Zealand
Posts: 230
Default

Its your decision whether or not to run a cooler, but the cooler you can keep that glide, the better. DO NOT plug the inlet and outlet. You must run a loop or you're headed for problems.
chevyfireball is offline  
Old 03-09-2010, 06:49 AM
  #9  
itsabird
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ohio
Posts: 812
Default

Originally Posted by chevyfireball
Its your decision whether or not to run a cooler, but the cooler you can keep that glide, the better. DO NOT plug the inlet and outlet. You must run a loop or you're headed for problems.
X2
itsabird is offline  
Old 03-09-2010, 09:53 AM
  #10  
triniemi
Member
JUNIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 83
Default

Originally Posted by chevyfireball
Its your decision whether or not to run a cooler, but the cooler you can keep that glide, the better. DO NOT plug the inlet and outlet. You must run a loop or you're headed for problems.
What kind of problems?
triniemi is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service