regulator

Old 02-24-2010, 03:39 PM
  #1  
spib
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: EastWenatchee,WA
Posts: 887
Default regulator

I was told by a company that I just got a regulator from to not mount regulator, just plumb in line, up close to carb

he said vibrations when you mount a regulator will kill them
agree or disagree ?

my set up is single carb, 8an line 600 hp motor, no return line
spib is offline  
Old 02-24-2010, 05:08 PM
  #2  
gnsrule
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 118
Default

I mounted mine on the old car and never had a problem. Im trying to find a good spot right now to mount it on the new car but havent found the right spot yet.
Whos regulator did you get? If its a BG 4 port, place a lock washer under the mounting bracket bolts if you use it as the supplied bolts are too long and doesnt squish the diaphram down tight. It will leak. I speak from experiance on this one. I called BG last time and they told me they never seen that before and now 4 years later I buy a new one and see the same thing.

Craig
gnsrule is offline  
Old 02-24-2010, 05:13 PM
  #3  
spib
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: EastWenatchee,WA
Posts: 887
Default

Its a moddified holley I believe from pro systems carb, looks like my small reg I got with my blue pump but it uses 1/2 inch in and out
http://www.prosystemsracing.com/cata...92/5339867.htm
spib is offline  
Old 02-24-2010, 07:37 PM
  #4  
mopar1968
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
mopar1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Abingdon,Virginia
Posts: 3,579
Default

Mine is mounted on the firewall, with line to carb, no problems :!: :!:



''JUST MY TWO CENT'S WORTH''
mopar1968 is offline  
Old 02-24-2010, 08:55 PM
  #5  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

Mine is mounted on the passenger fenderwell, when running gas with 2 #6 lines going too the carb. I have a duel setup with a 10 gal tank in the trunk and a 3 gal. for alcohol mounted left front for the injection.

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 12:38 AM
  #6  
gnsrule
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 118
Default

[quote="mopar1968"]Mine is mounted on the firewall, with line to carb, no problems :!: :!:

I belive NHRA sais no fuel line can be within 2 inches of the firewall, for what its worth.

Craig
gnsrule is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 11:30 AM
  #7  
spib
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: EastWenatchee,WA
Posts: 887
Default

[quote="gnsrule"][quote="mopar1968"]Mine is mounted on the firewall, with line to carb, no problems :!: :!:

I belive NHRA sais no fuel line can be within 2 inches of the firewall, for what its worth.

Craig[/quote
6" I believe for regulator, they get that I believe with the fact it states must be 6" forward of flywheel, bell housing area
spib is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 08:47 PM
  #8  
mopar1968
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
mopar1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Abingdon,Virginia
Posts: 3,579
Default

If you look at the pics in my profile you will see it mounted in passenger side of firewall, goes thru tech at every race, we race NHRA Track.

http://www.racingjunk.com/gallery/profile/163312/181736


''JUST MY TWO CENT'S WORTH''
mopar1968 is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 08:00 AM
  #9  
al34
Junior Member
JOURNEYMAN
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Default

they get that I believe with the fact it states must be 6" forward of flywheel, bell housing area
:wink: That is correct I got hit in tech 2 years ago for having the reg on the fire wall and had to relocate it.
al34 is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 08:09 AM
  #10  
spib
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: EastWenatchee,WA
Posts: 887
Default

mark I used to have mine just like yours, first race they made me move it, some tracks are just not that picky
spib is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service