staging lane chip system

Old 02-21-2010, 02:22 PM
  #1  
whosyurdaddy
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 18
Default staging lane chip system

Can anyone please explain the staging lane chip system ? i just started drag racing last season and I don't under stand when the official is pulling chips out of the pouch and assigning lane choice ? I was actually put at the back of line at one event for moving up in an empty lane which we were encouraged to use . I'm just trying to not make the same mistakes .
whosyurdaddy is offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 02:45 PM
  #2  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default Re: staging lane chip system

Originally Posted by whosyurdaddy
Can anyone please explain the staging lane chip system ? i just started drag racing last season and I don't under stand when the official is pulling chips out of the pouch and assigning lane choice ? I was actually put at the back of line at one event for moving up in an empty lane which we were encouraged to use . I'm just trying to not make the same mistakes .
A lot of tracks pull chips, but I can say a lot of tracks do it totally different you need the track offical to explain it to you the best before 1st round next time
hammertime is offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 02:52 PM
  #3  
ajk
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Wi
Posts: 522
Default

My track uses playing cards. 4 staging lanes each lane is assigned a suit spade,club,heart,diamond. First card pulled races second card pulled. We had used the same system for first round byes so if you went to the empty lane usually lane 1 by us, you had a 25% chance of a bye. Now we run the bye off the best reaction time in the second round of qualifying. Not sure if your chips are marked with lanes. I am sure this was of no help but i am curious how other tracks do it...
ajk is offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 06:27 PM
  #4  
mopar1968
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
mopar1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Abingdon,Virginia
Posts: 3,579
Default

Yeah mine uses playing card's high card get's lane choise :!: :!:



''JUST MY TWO CENT'S WORTH''

''I AM NOT GRUMPY UNLESS YOU MAKE ME THAT WAY''
mopar1968 is offline  
Old 02-22-2010, 11:02 PM
  #5  
cepx111
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,044
Default

It's always best to ask, but thats a new one on me.

I've been to tracks where they pair cars up after the 4th or 5th round with best reaction time getting lane choice.

The track I currently race at uses playing cards to determine the bye run in the later rounds, usually starting in the 5th.
All bye run candiates draw a single card, high card getting the bye.
I've never had much luck at getting that elusive HIGH card, I usually draw a 2 or 3 :shock: :evil:


Cp
cepx111 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service