s10 tranny problems

Old 01-11-2010, 04:28 PM
  #1  
s10Travis
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Default s10 tranny problems

I have a 88 chevy s-10 with a th350 a 350 engine and a 8.75 rear end since i have put the rear end in i have busted the bellhousing off 2 tranys and busted the bellhousing and tailshaft off 1.any suggestions?
s10Travis is offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 04:40 PM
  #2  
Drtmod5
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 177
Default

What type of mounts are you using on motor? Trans? Solid mounts? Need more info on your current setup.
Drtmod5 is offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 05:10 PM
  #3  
spib
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: EastWenatchee,WA
Posts: 887
Default

have heard people have this problem when they run a solid tranny mount, or only a front plate with no mid plate and solid tranny mount, or sometimes no mid plate and lots of hp
spib is offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 05:18 PM
  #4  
s10Travis
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Default

i have a front plate and a urathane trans mount
s10Travis is offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 05:36 PM
  #5  
Drtmod5
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 177
Default

I don't think that's enough. Too much hanging weight between the two mounting spots. You need a midplate, but don't go solid on the trans. Big trouble there! JMO
Drtmod5 is offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 05:39 PM
  #6  
s10Travis
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Default

ok thank you very much i give it a try
s10Travis is offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 06:00 PM
  #7  
mytmouz
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
mytmouz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pelahatchie, MS
Posts: 995
Default

Did you do anything to the driveshaft when you swapped rear ends? If not, the driveshaft is too long...
mytmouz is offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 06:43 PM
  #8  
MEMRACING62
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: orland pk il
Posts: 2,429
Default

Originally Posted by mytmouz
Did you do anything to the driveshaft when you swapped rear ends? If not, the driveshaft is too long...
X2, I would look a drive shaft length if your breaking tailshaft housings
MEMRACING62 is offline  
Old 01-11-2010, 08:05 PM
  #9  
s10Travis
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Default

we had to build a drive shaft it has i think like 3/4 of a inch play
s10Travis is offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 01:54 PM
  #10  
Drtmod5
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: IN
Posts: 177
Default

Who did the work on the driveshaft and was it balanced?
Drtmod5 is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service