fuel cell size?

Old 01-05-2010, 04:59 PM
  #1  
Autotek2
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default fuel cell size?

what size fuel cell are you guys running?I have a 69 nova with a 565.I will be running quater mile.Thanks Art
Autotek2 is offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 05:22 PM
  #2  
DirkaDirka
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
DirkaDirka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 1,954
Default

I am getting a 93 Mustang GT that has a 12 gallon fuel cell in it that will be runnin the 1/8mi and 1/4mi
DirkaDirka is offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 05:29 PM
  #3  
TheYellaBrick
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheYellaBrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Emmett, Idaho
Posts: 7,334
Default

I'm using a 32 gallon Fuel Safe MilSpec bladder and can system. HOWEVER I run a whole string of quarter miles at a time !
Don't mind me, all this c-c-c-c-cold weather has done frosted my brains and I'm bored st-st-stiff.
:roll: :roll:
TheYellaBrick is offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 06:16 PM
  #4  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

I have a 4 gallon cell in mine and it's plenty.....
johnracer is offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 07:29 PM
  #5  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

I run a 3 gal. on alcohol in the Malibu. I originally bought a 4 gal. but couldn't get it to fit next to the rad. frame and front fender well. If you're running gas 3 gal. will be big enough, but alcohol in the qtr. it's cutting it close, you'll probably use 1 1/2 to 2 gal. alcohol but less on gas if you drive it to the starting line and back to the pits after the run.

JMO

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 04:22 AM
  #6  
BEAST477
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
BEAST477's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,908
Default

I'm running a 540 BBC on gas and I use 1 gal per pass. I drive it to the lanes and back to my pit. I have a 10 gal cell only because that's what was in the car when I bought it. Depends where you are putting it and how much space you have and do you need it for weight transfer. A 5 gal cell would be plenty in most cases.
BEAST477 is offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 01:00 PM
  #7  
prozb
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Default

I run a 2 gallon front mounted custom tank next to radiator. Plenty enough on race gas!!!!
prozb is offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 06:24 PM
  #8  
Autotek2
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for all the replies .I was thinking five gallon now I know for sure that its plenty big enough.Thanks again Art
Autotek2 is offline  
Old 01-06-2010, 08:11 PM
  #9  
mopar1968
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
mopar1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Abingdon,Virginia
Posts: 3,579
Default

I have a 3 gallon cell :!: :!:



''JUST MY TWO CENT'S WORTH''
mopar1968 is offline  
Old 01-07-2010, 10:25 PM
  #10  
russ67chevelle
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 336
Default

12 gallon in a tube car for cruise ins...
russ67chevelle is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service