mixture screws

Old 12-31-2009, 05:27 PM
  #1  
supersmurf666
Member
CRAFTSMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pensacola,Fl.
Posts: 51
Default mixture screws

trying to adjust my friends edelebrock 600 carb and doesnt make a difference how far in or out i turn them has no effect on idle.I just cant remember what the problem is.help!!!!
supersmurf666 is offline  
Old 12-31-2009, 07:13 PM
  #2  
suicidebomb
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Independence, Missouri
Posts: 1,188
Default

At an idle can you turn them all the way in till they seat, and the motor continues to run? Call me curious.
suicidebomb is offline  
Old 12-31-2009, 07:37 PM
  #3  
lively
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
lively's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ILLINOIS
Posts: 2,191
Default

AIR/ VACUUM LEAK :? :? :?
lively is offline  
Old 01-01-2010, 06:21 AM
  #4  
oldandtired
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
oldandtired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sugar Hill, GA
Posts: 1,370
Default

Originally Posted by lively
AIR/ VACUUM LEAK :? :? :?
x2
oldandtired is offline  
Old 01-01-2010, 07:28 AM
  #5  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Originally Posted by oldandtired
Originally Posted by lively
AIR/ VACUUM LEAK :? :? :?
x2
x3
hammertime is offline  
Old 01-01-2010, 07:34 AM
  #6  
supersmurf666
Member
CRAFTSMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pensacola,Fl.
Posts: 51
Default

no vacum leaks.and yes turned all the way in and it still runs.I read about that in one of my hot rod books so i guess ill start looking through them so i can find that article and see what the problem is.
supersmurf666 is offline  
Old 01-01-2010, 08:52 AM
  #7  
TS1955
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lost Creek, WV
Posts: 533
Default

If your idle screw on your throttle arm has the throttle plates opened past the idle transfer slots, then your mixture screws won't have an effect when adjusted. Something you might look at!

TS1955
TS1955 is offline  
Old 01-01-2010, 12:09 PM
  #8  
suicidebomb
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Independence, Missouri
Posts: 1,188
Default

Check what TS said, if that's not the problem, the idle mixture screw seats, are ruptured. Probably time for a new carb. I don't know of any way to fix that.
suicidebomb is offline  
Old 01-01-2010, 12:20 PM
  #9  
MEMRACING62
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: orland pk il
Posts: 2,429
Default

X3 TS
MEMRACING62 is offline  
Old 01-01-2010, 02:16 PM
  #10  
supersmurf666
Member
CRAFTSMAN
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pensacola,Fl.
Posts: 51
Default

ok.thats what i was thinking but couldnt remember.Thanks for all ya'll's help.HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!
supersmurf666 is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service