Sealing scoop to carb

Old 12-22-2009, 05:06 PM
  #1  
novadude72
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default Sealing scoop to carb

I am installing a aero scoop on my car wanted to know if i can use 3/16 aluminum plate or is it to heavy to mount directly to carb thanks.
novadude72 is offline  
Old 12-23-2009, 10:59 AM
  #2  
zipper06
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La.
Posts: 2,890
Default

That sounds heavier than necessary too me. On my injection engine i'm useing 1/16" tk., because that's the material i already have, but .040 would be tk. enough.

JMO

Zip.
zipper06 is offline  
Old 12-23-2009, 12:40 PM
  #3  
TS1955
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lost Creek, WV
Posts: 533
Default

The panel between my scoop and carb is .040 and works fine. JMO!

TS1955
TS1955 is offline  
Old 12-23-2009, 12:44 PM
  #4  
oldandtired
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
oldandtired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sugar Hill, GA
Posts: 1,370
Default

I used 3/16 on my door car and then crushed the foam about 20% with the hood to get a good seal. I was afraid the lighter stuff would flex.
JMO
Dave
oldandtired is offline  
Old 01-01-2010, 09:01 PM
  #5  
nitrotrucker
Junior Member
SHOW GUEST
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Default bonnett scoop

when i did my car i used a 14" aircleaner base and foam to seal carbie to bonnett worked real well
nitrotrucker is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service