CONVERTOR

Old 12-13-2009, 08:57 PM
  #1  
mopar1968
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
mopar1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Abingdon,Virginia
Posts: 3,579
Default CONVERTOR

Ok guy's/gal's i need to buy a higher stall convertor for my Dart small block, engine is broken in now, Was told by builder to go to a 5400-5600 stall to get engine up into power range, Now here is the question which convertor do you guy's/gal's suggest :?: :?: [Brand] Footbraking car with 2 step :!: :!:


''JUST MY TWO CENT'S WORTH''
mopar1968 is offline  
Old 12-13-2009, 09:06 PM
  #2  
mytmouz
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
mytmouz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pelahatchie, MS
Posts: 998
Default

I have used bte, tci, and ptc with good results in the past, I would use anyone of them again with no problem...
mytmouz is offline  
Old 12-14-2009, 04:42 AM
  #3  
kbartley
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Staunton,VA.
Posts: 251
Default convertor

have you talked to the guy's at redneck racing. they build custom convertor's. Thats all I know about them. They use ebay as advertisement. I called and ordered a conv. from them for the new car I'm building. Ihave heard some goodthings about them so I thought I would give them a shot. 9"convertor guarenteed to give me 4000stall on the handbrake with my set-up. $320.00 to my door.
Kris
Yeah I know you get what you pay for but who know's.
kbartley is offline  
Old 12-14-2009, 05:21 AM
  #4  
slowmotion
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Staunton, IL
Posts: 943
Default

I have a BTE in my car. It stalled to high when it was first installed. Sent it back had it tightened up. It's been fine ever since.
slowmotion is offline  
Old 12-14-2009, 06:13 AM
  #5  
bowhay
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 263
Default

i would try redneck performance
theyre a small conpany out of stephanville texas and they make really good custom converters
their spragless race convertors are good to 900hp i believe
bowhay is offline  
Old 12-14-2009, 07:49 AM
  #6  
blowninjected540
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 379
Default

I have used Coan and TCI in the past, now running BTE.
blowninjected540 is offline  
Old 12-14-2009, 07:58 AM
  #7  
THERATTLER
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
THERATTLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: LICKSKILLET , MISSISSIPPI
Posts: 1,474
Default

BTE on my blower motors , only had a problem once after about 100 passes and they fixed it for me,,Bill Taylor is a real nice fellow and you can deal with him direct if you like,,can't find many places where you can talk straight to the owner..
THERATTLER is offline  
Old 12-14-2009, 07:59 AM
  #8  
hollowayshotrods
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,289
Default

BTE here as well!
hollowayshotrods is offline  
Old 12-14-2009, 08:03 AM
  #9  
itsabird
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ohio
Posts: 813
Default

I use tci, but i have two pals useing redneck in pulling trucks, so far so good, been useing them for the last two years. right at 900 hp.
itsabird is offline  
Old 12-14-2009, 12:52 PM
  #10  
oldandtired
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
oldandtired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sugar Hill, GA
Posts: 1,370
Default

Bolt togther converters are pricy (Neal Chance = $1700) but it might be the last one you will ever buy.
You can change to any stall you want (no shipping fees or waiting 1 or 2 weeks) for long or short tracks, different altitudes, etc.
You can clean them if you have a failure.
You can inspect or freshen up if you "wonder" if you have a problem.
Dave
oldandtired is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service