Throttle stop

Old 10-09-2009, 05:49 AM
  #1  
kod99
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Red Deer, AB Canada
Posts: 213
Default Throttle stop

I was talking to an engine builder the other day and he gave me some advice I thought was interesting. He claimed that if you only intend to bracket race, you should remove the trottle stop from your engine.
He claimed that they had BBC on the dyno a few years ago and it was stumbling a bit and not reaching the numbers they thought it should on the dyno pulls. They removed the throttle stop completely, the stumble dissappeared and the HP came up (he didn't say exactly how much - just higher). Has anyone else experienced this?
kod99 is offline  
Old 10-09-2009, 10:31 AM
  #2  
I972Nova
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Orient, OH
Posts: 384
Default

The under the carb style stop is usually slows you down about a tenth. I pull mine off after our Points season ends for brackets.
I972Nova is offline  
Old 10-09-2009, 12:01 PM
  #3  
kod99
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Red Deer, AB Canada
Posts: 213
Default

Josh,
Did you replace the throttle stop with a spacer of the same height?
kod99 is offline  
Old 10-09-2009, 07:40 PM
  #4  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Its usually worth 2-3 on a typical 1000hp motor when taking them off. APD/Sunset makes one now that is faster
hammertime is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service