Converter stall speed question

Old 10-03-2009, 08:30 PM
  #1  
coloradoracerguy
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Morrison, Colorado
Posts: 120
Default Converter stall speed question

Just out of curiosity, what stall speeds can you achieve with a 10" converter? I've got a Neal Chance 10" and it needs sent out to be freshened and restalled, but if it can't reach the stall I need (approx 4500-5000), then I might just get a new one. Any input?


Thanks
Mark
coloradoracerguy is offline  
Old 10-04-2009, 05:14 AM
  #2  
russ67chevelle
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 336
Default

www.dragstuff.com


marty chance is the mediator on the trans dept over there,drop him a line
russ67chevelle is offline  
Old 10-04-2009, 05:33 AM
  #3  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

That stall speed should be achievable, but you'll get more torque multiplication out of a smaller diameter. Really depends on the application, but I know up here in the thin air you'll need all you can get. I run at Bandimere often and may have seen you there.....
Johnny
johnracer is offline  
Old 10-04-2009, 06:59 AM
  #4  
coloradoracerguy
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Morrison, Colorado
Posts: 120
Default

Thanks for the info. I'll go there and check.

Johnny, what car do you drive? I wasn't racing this year as the car I got needed some chassis updates and that put a damper on the season. I'm hoping to be out there next year though.


Mark
coloradoracerguy is offline  
Old 10-04-2009, 08:00 AM
  #5  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

I mostly run in their Superseries in SG, but occasionally in SP. 63 Vette roadster. Last year it was in tan primer, kinda desert camo looking......had it painted over the winter and is now gray/silver with airbrushed riveted panels on the right front.

If you ran the Chevy event last year, I was the guy that got really crossed up/changed lanes during the first set of TT after it rained all week on the new all concrete track....

What's yours?
Later,
Johnny
johnracer is offline  
Old 10-04-2009, 06:40 PM
  #6  
coloradoracerguy
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Morrison, Colorado
Posts: 120
Default

Didn't have the car last year, just picked it up from my buddy in April. Check out my website, I've got pics there.


www.livinthedreamracing.com

I look forward to racing with ya next year!!


Mark
coloradoracerguy is offline  
Old 10-04-2009, 09:03 PM
  #7  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

You can get the stall change but may cost more then a normal stall change if its way off and needs a big tweak.

I would think you would want more then 4500-5000 though, Loose converters are your friend not tight ones
hammertime is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service