fuel level gage

Old 09-20-2009, 10:04 AM
  #1  
3758
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 15
Default fuel level gage

I have a 97 jeep wrangler I have a 350 chev in it all the computor stuff is gone all the gages are gone with it. I made my own gage cluster with speedo,water temp,oilpressure, volt metor with room for a fuel level gage. are there any made that will wire in to the pig tail coming out of the tank on one of these things or whats out there.The one's I've seen are not real specific on how they work. Some seem to be related to compatability with the manufacture's dash related wiring, I have none, just the pig tail coming out at the tank. Any idiy will help thanks. Is a 97 jeep considered a AMC jeep or Dodge jeep?
3758 is offline  
Old 09-20-2009, 10:23 AM
  #2  
DirkaDirka
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
DirkaDirka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 1,951
Default

You might have to just get one and hard wire it into the pigtail coming off the tank.IMO I havent really noticed any that have enough wire with the correct pigtail to just plug into the pigtail coming out of the tank.
DirkaDirka is offline  
Old 09-20-2009, 10:30 AM
  #3  
mopar1968
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
mopar1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Abingdon,Virginia
Posts: 3,581
Default

A fuel gauge works off of resistance, you need to apply voltage to sending unit, when the tank is full it uses less voltage, which is greater resistance, what i would do is use a fuel cell with a sending unit.
mopar1968 is offline  
Old 09-20-2009, 02:37 PM
  #4  
3758
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 15
Default refuel gage

A fuel cell is out. I assume I need to know the ohms range of the sending unit. Gages range from 0-30 on early GM to 0-90 on late model GM,s 16-158 on mustangs all the way up to 240-33 sending units I guess I need to some how find that info to get the right gage to be compatable with the stock jeep sending unit.
3758 is offline  
Old 09-20-2009, 02:55 PM
  #5  
DirkaDirka
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
DirkaDirka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 1,951
Default

Yes that would be something good to know so you dont end up burning up a fuel gauge or have it showing the wrong amount of fuel in your tank.
DirkaDirka is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -