Simple Problems hard to find.

Old 08-30-2009, 02:09 PM
  #1  
TheRabbit
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
TheRabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Augusta, Ga.
Posts: 2,295
Default Simple Problems hard to find.

I had a problem last night that I wanted to share with you guys.
Last night my truck was running great and consistent as always. After my 4th pass I hit a pretty good dip just as I got off the gas in the shut down area. As I turned around it was running as rough as a tuna boat. (skipping). It shut off and I tried to crank it. It seemed like it wasn't getting any fire, but also felt like it was flooded so I push the pedal to the floor and it slowly started. It was still running really rough and shut off like it was running out of gas. Checked fuel pressure (good) and carb bowles were full but still would not keep running so I towed it to the trailer. I checked all the wires on the MSD box thinking the hard dip I bounced over may have jarred a wire loose or may have cut the coil wire going through the firewall. Nope, couldn't find anything. I finally got it started and loaded it up.
Today I did the simple thing first. Pulled the carb off and checked it out. Nothing wrong. Next I'm thinking that it also seemed like it lost a bunch of timing and would not start so maybe the distributor had come loose. It was tight so I then pulled the cap and there it was. The pickup strap on the rotor was burnt pretty bad. I cleaned it up, put it back together and WAPOW, Fired right up!! By the way it acted I was kinda stumped at first, but as always go to the basics first. Aggravating I didn't finish the race, but glad I found it pretty quick.
By the way it acted last night I wouldn't have ever thought it was just a cap and rotor problem.
TheRabbit is offline  
Old 08-30-2009, 04:34 PM
  #2  
TS1955
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lost Creek, WV
Posts: 533
Default

Sometimes it's the simple things that make you scratch your head! Glad you found it though!

TS1955
TS1955 is offline  
Old 08-30-2009, 04:39 PM
  #3  
fla1976
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
fla1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,535
Default Problem

I guess it is always best to go back to the basics. Seems to solve most problems. Good trouble shooting. Glad you solved it. Now get back to the track.
fla1976 is offline  
Old 08-30-2009, 06:09 PM
  #4  
TheYellaBrick
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheYellaBrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Emmett, Idaho
Posts: 7,334
Default

Reminds me of my air-cooled VW days and the time of that new fangled electronic Bosch fuel injection systems in the Type III's and then Bugs and Buses. I'd spend HOURS upon, AGGRAVATING HOURS, trying to find what the heck was wrong, only to end up cleaning a hidden and corroded ground strap and make 'em run like,....well a VW.
TheYellaBrick is offline  
Old 08-30-2009, 09:30 PM
  #5  
rob41willys
Senior Member
SENIOR BUILDER
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 115
Default

I know many have heard this before but it deserves repeating. Just remember the KISS rule.
Keep It Simple Stupid It works for me
rob41willys is offline  
Old 08-30-2009, 09:44 PM
  #6  
DirkaDirka
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
DirkaDirka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 1,954
Default

We all can be glad it wasnt a bigger problem than what it was. That was a great find.
DirkaDirka is offline  
Old 08-31-2009, 05:04 AM
  #7  
TheRabbit
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
TheRabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Augusta, Ga.
Posts: 2,295
Default

Originally Posted by rob41willys
I know many have heard this before but it deserves repeating. Just remember the KISS rule.
Keep It Simple Stupid It works for me
X2

When a weird problem happens I always think what was I doing or what happened when it started. That's kinda what threw me off on this one. I guess the bump had nothing to do with the problem on this one. We were just talking about fuel cell foam and I couldn't help but think all the bouncing caused some foam or trash to get in the carb.

Cap and rotor button problems are just another reason to run a crank trigger. I'll be switching to one this winter when I re-ring it.
TheRabbit is offline  
Old 08-31-2009, 05:39 AM
  #8  
THERATTLER
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
THERATTLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: LICKSKILLET , MISSISSIPPI
Posts: 1,474
Default

SORRY , RABBIT , BUT YOU WILL STILL HAVE A CAP AND ROTOR BUTTON TO DEAL WITH , TWICE IN MY RACING CAREER I HAVE HAD ROTOR BUTTON FAILURE , BOTH TIMES ON THE STARTING LINE AFTER THE BURN OUT AND STARTING TO STAGE , THEY BOTH WERE MSD ROTORS... GOOD PART ABOUT THE CRANK TRIGGER IS A WHOLE LOT MORE ACCURATE TIMING AND YOU CAN PHASE THE ROTOR TO THE CAP. PAUL (didn't realize i was on capitals)
THERATTLER is offline  
Old 08-31-2009, 07:48 AM
  #9  
TheRabbit
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
Thread Starter
 
TheRabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Augusta, Ga.
Posts: 2,295
Default

You are right. I was thinking one thing and kinda type a half azz other ops:
What I was thinking was my distributor is probably 5 or 6 years old so it's time to replace it before I have any other peoblems and I want to go crank trigger anyway. With everything being new I should be good for a while.
The way I wrote it didn't quit come out like that ops:
TheRabbit is offline  
Old 08-31-2009, 08:53 AM
  #10  
THERATTLER
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
THERATTLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: LICKSKILLET , MISSISSIPPI
Posts: 1,474
Default

still the best way to go
THERATTLER is offline  
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service