keep breaking tranny mounts on 94 camaro v8

Old 08-10-2009, 09:23 PM
  #1  
chevyart
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 173
Default keep breaking tranny mounts on 94 camaro v8

my beuudy broke about 6 motormounts on his slightly modified stoick v8 engine in his 94 camaro. is there some reason for this or a factory problem that he should know about. any suggestions thanks chevy art
chevyart is offline  
Old 08-10-2009, 09:25 PM
  #2  
chevyart
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 173
Default broken traqnny mounts

meant to say tranny mounts in the above post, and not the motor mounts thanks chevy art
chevyart is offline  
Old 08-10-2009, 09:45 PM
  #3  
DirkaDirka
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
DirkaDirka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 1,951
Default

Are the motor mounts good?? What part of the tranny mount is he breaking?
DirkaDirka is offline  
Old 08-10-2009, 11:35 PM
  #4  
cepx111
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,044
Default

I seen this alot in them camaro's - I don't know what it is but they break trans mounts often, if you start making any big power with the motor the problem only gets worse.

A friend of mine finally ended up putting a poly urethane mount in his 95 Z/28, hasnt broke that one, not yet anyway.

Cp
cepx111 is offline  
Old 08-11-2009, 05:49 AM
  #5  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

Originally Posted by cepx111
A friend of mine finally ended up putting a poly urethane mount in his 95 Z/28, hasnt broke that one, not yet anyway.

Cp
there is the fix for the issue most the time
hammertime is offline  
Old 08-11-2009, 09:38 PM
  #6  
chevyart
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 173
Default broken motor mounts

thanks guys for instant response. i will as him obout the motor mounts and what part of tranny mount he is breaking. i told him to use the posyurethane tranny mount, but he said they are too stiff, but i think he has to go to one of those to solve the problem thanks again chevy art
chevyart is offline  
Old 08-12-2009, 07:41 PM
  #7  
sp2816
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Owingsville, Ky
Posts: 157
Default

The torque arm is mounted at the transmission on those cars and that is helping break the transmission mount when the rear is rotating and pushing the torque arm up in the front. The cheaper fix is the poly mount, but aftermarket torque arms and mounting will fix it. I have seen straps made to help limit the upward movement of the transmission to keep from breaking the mount.
sp2816 is offline  
Old 08-13-2009, 11:07 AM
  #8  
CamBirdRacing
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 510
Default

My 94 F/B v-6 keeps breaking them. They are a hydralic setup from the factory. POS if you ask me. so now I am driving around with a broken tranny mount. I just don't get on it, makes the tranny hit the tunnel. I need to put a poly one on there. Too Lazy.
CamBirdRacing is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -