Running Engine on engine stand

Old 08-06-2009, 09:32 AM
  #1  
nofear57
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: potash country
Posts: 262
Default Running Engine on engine stand

My engine is a Reher-Morrison 555ci. BBC single 4bbl appox. 900hp. Is it ok to run my engine on an engine stand without the trans. and rev it up to like 6 or 7 thousand RPM? Or will it rev to the moon and not stop?
Or do I just have to let it idle or maybe can I take it to 2 or 3 thousand RPM?
nofear57 is offline  
Old 08-06-2009, 09:52 AM
  #2  
cepx111
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,044
Default

You can do it BUT just dont get to carried away reving it up.
On a stand or unattached to a tranny engines rev up VERY easily.

JMO>Cp
cepx111 is offline  
Old 08-06-2009, 09:58 AM
  #3  
TS1955
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lost Creek, WV
Posts: 533
Default

Why would you want to rev it that high on the stand? I think you are asking for trouble. I've started them up on a stand that I made for that purpose, but never free reved one to 6 or 7000 rpm! JMO

TS1955
TS1955 is offline  
Old 08-06-2009, 11:47 AM
  #4  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

Originally Posted by TS1955
Why would you want to rev it that high on the stand? I think you are asking for trouble. I've started them up on a stand that I made for that purpose, but never free reved one to 6 or 7000 rpm! JMO

TS1955
I agree!! It's pointless to rev one that high anywhere except on the track
johnracer is offline  
Old 08-06-2009, 01:18 PM
  #5  
OneBadGMC
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Belleville, IL
Posts: 658
Default

He probably does the same thing in the pits and at the line. So hey, why not do it on an engine stand too?
OneBadGMC is offline  
Old 08-06-2009, 01:30 PM
  #6  
oldandtired
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
oldandtired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sugar Hill, GA
Posts: 1,370
Default

I don't reccomend doing it on an engine stand, because of the center of gravity is rather high. I have a home made test stand and I always crank my engines before installing them. Break in cam (if required) and check for leaks. They can be eased up but not hossed, if you know what I mean.

Dave
oldandtired is offline  
Old 08-06-2009, 03:50 PM
  #7  
nofear57
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: potash country
Posts: 262
Default

I have a well braced engine stand that won't tip,you might as well say its similar to a car frame.
nofear57 is offline  
Old 08-06-2009, 06:57 PM
  #8  
TheYellaBrick
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheYellaBrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Emmett, Idaho
Posts: 7,334
Default

I never buzz 'em up that high without a load on 'em. That's what a dyno is for.
Still it'd be interesting to hear any real scientific/engineering opinion on this........
TheYellaBrick is offline  
Old 08-06-2009, 07:21 PM
  #9  
FullTimeRacing
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Orleans,La
Posts: 515
Default

I would be scared that the rotational force would tip it over ops: ops:
FullTimeRacing is offline  
Old 08-06-2009, 10:23 PM
  #10  
ashbros
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 664
Default

No offense, You must be nuts........

If you have any type of power you could find that engine your playing with in your lap.

I do not think an engine stand was designed for this application, But what do I know...... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
ashbros is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service