racing gas-so many choices,which is right for me?

Old 07-06-2009, 11:22 PM
  #1  
russ67chevelle
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 336
Default racing gas-so many choices,which is right for me?

i ran into a fellow racer he said torco fuel may clog or screw up a fuel filter.is there crap floating around that will do this in the torco mach110?i bought a bunch of the torco mach110.

i have a 572 that figured out to 10.2:1 compression with a 275 nitrous shot right off the transbrake.what octane should i be running and what brand is the best bang for the buck,can some one shoot me in right direction.

i live in south eastern wisconsin so dealer numbers would be appreciated!
russ67chevelle is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 04:41 AM
  #2  
JEFF69Z28
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 496
Default

CALL VP RACING FUELS AND THEY WILL HELP YOU CHOOSE THE RIGHT ONE..
JEFF69Z28 is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 07:36 AM
  #3  
hammertime
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Coldwater, MI
Posts: 2,998
Default

110 is fine

Only way that Torco has anything floating in it is if you didnt buy it in a sealed drum from Torco. To many times do I see people blame stuff in fuel on the brand it is and not the people who pumped it out of a bulk tank into a drum. Not saying yours is that way but no matter what its always smart to filter fuel before going into a car no matter what brand.

Outwears Filters are the best
hammertime is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 09:05 AM
  #4  
shawnp
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 937
Default

I think what you have is just fine. Heck, try 112 and see what it does.

As for Torco, David hit it on the head. It is not in the fuel but the way it is drummed out. VP is over priced and the other brands repeat just as well.
shawnp is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 11:44 AM
  #5  
russ67chevelle
Senior Member
EXPERT BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 336
Default

a friend gave me a large funnel with a wire mesh screen at bottom.should i be using a paper element as well?prob wont hurt,but maybe overkill.

my mother has a speed queen vaccuum,i remember the thing using cone shaped filters,hmmmmmm,wondering if itll work???
russ67chevelle is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 01:38 PM
  #6  
oldandtired
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
oldandtired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sugar Hill, GA
Posts: 1,370
Default

Put two paper paint filters in your funnel. Use once and throw them away. You will see any trash left behind. I also get them free each time I buy paint.

Dave
oldandtired is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 06:00 PM
  #7  
shawnp
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 937
Default

Summit and I believe Jegs sells a nice one that has a removable filter.
shawnp is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 06:21 PM
  #8  
TheRabbit
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
TheRabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Augusta, Ga.
Posts: 2,295
Default

I buy my fuel straight from VP. Not a dealer, but the Southeast Region supplier. No reason other than they are just a few miles from my house. I filter my fuel through 2 filters everytime I pour it. You'd be supprised what trash I get even from sealed cans!
TheRabbit is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service