Thermostat - Use one or forget it.

Old 06-29-2009, 05:23 AM
  #1  
jreiley
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Iowa - USA
Posts: 218
Default Thermostat - Use one or forget it.

Should I run a thermostat on a 350sbc? The engine runs in the 200+ range and I'm nervous.
jreiley is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 05:38 AM
  #2  
chevyfireball
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Napier, New Zealand
Posts: 230
Default

Checked your head gaskets lately?
chevyfireball is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 06:30 AM
  #3  
johnracer
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Rifle Colorado
Posts: 585
Default

Are we talkin race car here? If so, I run without. Having a stat makes them hard to cool below stat rating.....200 degrees is really nothing to get nervous about though.
Jmo,
Johnny
johnracer is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 11:14 AM
  #4  
FullTimeRacing
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Orleans,La
Posts: 515
Default

what do you have in it ? If it is a 160* put a 180 in it and it will help slow the water down.

Also add a airdame under the radaitor support.
FullTimeRacing is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 11:19 AM
  #5  
ARUSSELL
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 193
Default

Ditch ut and go with restrictors
ARUSSELL is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 11:29 AM
  #6  
TS1955
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lost Creek, WV
Posts: 533
Default

I run race motors with no stat. Stock motors with a stat. And performance street motors with a restrictor. And I agree 200*- 210* is nothing to worry about. JMO

TS1955
TS1955 is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 04:41 PM
  #7  
jreiley
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Iowa - USA
Posts: 218
Default

Thanks all. It's a race motor - so no thermostat. Not sure what a restrictor is.
jreiley is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 04:45 PM
  #8  
FullTimeRacing
Senior Member
DYNO OPERATOR
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New Orleans,La
Posts: 515
Default

take a old t/stat and cut the middle out,the part that moves, that is a restrictor
FullTimeRacing is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 07:04 PM
  #9  
tcarda
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Big Lake, Minnesota
Posts: 162
Default

Originally Posted by montecarlo84
take a old t/stat and cut the middle out,the part that moves, that is a restrictor
X2. Thats what I did with mine too with no heating issues. Kinda nice after I shut the motor down to leave the fans and water pump run.
tcarda is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 08:58 PM
  #10  
mopar1968
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
mopar1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Abingdon,Virginia
Posts: 3,579
Default

I always run one, 200 at the traps, 160 back to trailer!! Mine cool's down pretty quickly :!: :!:


''JUST MY TWO CENT'S WORTH''

http://www.racingjunk.com/profile/163312
mopar1968 is offline  

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service