TH 400 Help PLEASE

Old 06-26-2009, 08:27 PM
  #1  
jakedog3
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 16
Default TH 400 Help PLEASE

Hey there, I have th400 , i dont know what been done to it, i know it has some type of shift kit cause it slams into second gear hard ! Now shifting from 2nd to 3rd ,there is atleast a 500 rpm delay. When i leave the car in drive , it shifts fine. .....Now problen 2 has just arised , for some reason the car shifts all 3 gears,( when i leave it in drive) by about 15 mile an hour ! 1st to 2nd happens at about 5mph. I really dont want to have to rebuild it yet ! Any simple suggestions??? Possibly the modulator?? any thoughts let me know.

Oh ya i also have friend that is a mechanic ( not a tranny guy ) and he told me DONT change the fluid you will guaranteed have more problems, anyone else believe in this theory?????
jakedog3 is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 08:35 PM
  #2  
Tod74
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4,143
Default Re: TH 400 Help PLEASE

Originally Posted by jakedog3

Oh ya i also have friend that is a mechanic ( not a tranny guy ) and he told me DONT change the fluid you will guaranteed have more problems, anyone else believe in this theory?????
no
Tod74 is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 09:00 PM
  #3  
jakedog3
Junior Member
APPRENTICE
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 16
Default

UPDATE , I just pulled the vaccum line and water came out !!!! Which i did get caught in a monsoon today so i'm hoping this is all it was !!!
jakedog3 is offline  
Old 06-27-2009, 12:09 AM
  #4  
cepx111
Senior Member
RACING JUNKIE
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,044
Default Re: TH 400 Help PLEASE

Originally Posted by jakedog3
Hey there, I have th400 , i dont know what been done to it, i know it has some type of shift kit cause it slams into second gear hard ! Now shifting from 2nd to 3rd ,there is atleast a 500 rpm delay. When i leave the car in drive , it shifts fine. .....Now problen 2 has just arised , for some reason the car shifts all 3 gears,( when i leave it in drive) by about 15 mile an hour ! 1st to 2nd happens at about 5mph. I really dont want to have to rebuild it yet ! Any simple suggestions??? Possibly the modulator?? any thoughts let me know.

Oh ya i also have friend that is a mechanic ( not a tranny guy ) and he told me DONT change the fluid you will guaranteed have more problems, anyone else believe in this theory?????
fords yes, chevys no.
cepx111 is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 12:12 PM
  #5  
ARUSSELL
Senior Member
MASTER BUILDER
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 193
Default

Make sure if you have a kickdown cable it is adjusted properally, there might not be enought throttle pressure.
ARUSSELL is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service